Day 24: A Pinkberry and Chipotle kind of Saturday here

25 Jan

The title says it all really. That’s what we had for dinner, in that order. Here are the other finer, random details around our day.

I cleaned the house thoroughly on Friday night. This was in preparation for a playdate Bamdar was having.Her social calendar is way more full than mine. Also you can imagine the state of the house that it warranted thorough cleaning for a mere playdate. Anyway, the house looks lovely now. I still have some dumpster areas to clean.bathroom cabinet shelves…God alone knows what we have there, sock bags full of unmatched socks…and so on.  But overall , the house is pretty decent and I can have any of you over today and I will be fairly tension free! Makes me think I should get our cleaning done each week on Friday evenings. I watched an old season of Top Chef as I cleaned and I was happily working on all this till 1 am. I even ungrudgingly went downstairs twice to dump the recycling , a job that both the husbadoo and I keep postponing.
Enough about the house, Bamdar’s playdate was good. Her little French friend is moving back to France in a few months.This is Bandar’s first real friend. They had moved to NYC from Cali just before we did from Texas and girls became very close at school. I also really like the mom.  So Bandar and I will miss them. I am happy for them though, getting closer to family and doing what they want etc. NYC appears to be a very transitional place for many of us – stay for a while, do your thing and move on. So I guess it just means we should make the most of these few months/ years here.

It snowed last night and the city from my window looks beeyooteeful.This year the snow hasn’t been bad at all. Somehow better than what I remember last year.  We went out today evening and bought a few specific things for the husbadoo. He knows what exactly he wants and is a fairly picky but quick shopper. Bandar was a riot at the stores, till she hurt her lip running around. So of course we had to get frozen yogurt and Pink Berry it was. There are really few things better in the world than watching your toddler enjoy her bowl of frozen yogurt, despite her cold and all!

We followed it up with dinner at Chipotle and then made our way home. I already have some veggies chopped for tomorrow, we have brunch plans with friends, I have started a good book (finally) for book club, I don’t have office work to think about till Monday. So that is what I would call a relaxed Saturday night.Hope everyone else is having a good one too. Do share and let me know!

8 Responses to “Day 24: A Pinkberry and Chipotle kind of Saturday here”

  1. Dil On The Rocks January 25, 2015 at 3:01 pm #

    So far so good. I am also on cleaning or actually,organizing spree this weekend.

  2. smdeea11 January 25, 2015 at 3:30 pm #

    And why don’t you have any pictures?

    • popgoesthebiscuit January 26, 2015 at 9:01 am #

      Hehe…in the moment, I forget to take pics…even a few for the gparents. Should get better with this.

  3. Kavs January 25, 2015 at 6:58 pm #

    How’s Bandar’s ouchie? Good job on the cleaning 🙂 I am the cleaning nazi and don’t take mess lightly – it just gets on my nerves. What book are you reading? Btw, your posts are a delight to read P – I am sad your 30 day challenge is coming to an end 😦

    • popgoesthebiscuit January 26, 2015 at 9:05 am #

      You get a lot of cleaning done despite a baby, kya..that’s awesome …sadly, I don’t do much on the cleaning front. Just realizing its easier if I doit regularly than tackle it in one go like this. I am reading “Lovers at the Chameleon Club,, Paris 1932.” I am part of a book club here and this is usually not inthe genre I pick up but am pleasantly surprised. Bandar is sick today, yaar. Wish we had not done yogurt now, maybe aggravated her bug in some way. I think I stuck to the challenge only because I have comments, makes me accountable somehow. Still a few days left, but think this has helped me get some sort of rhythm with blogging, you know. Not just one post a week kinds.

  4. More than words January 25, 2015 at 9:24 pm #

    The regular quiet days are the best ones 🙂

    • popgoesthebiscuit January 26, 2015 at 9:07 am #

      They are , aren’t they. Hope you had a restful one today.

Leave a Reply

