Day 20 : For Bandar

21 Jan

Dearest Bandar,

You are two years and four months old and I want to tell you that you have been your delightful best off late.

Take the first day back at school after your long vacation. You hadn’t been to school in a month and I was dreading a major meltdown. Instead you went in happily and just told your teacher that you had decided not to nap that day. You had told us the same thing before you left for school that day. And that is exactly what you did. You stayed up , despite being terribly sleepy, just because you had decided so in the morning. You funny little headstrong goose of mine! i

You ask to take some toy to school on some days or even just a hanky from home. You hold it all the way there in your stroller and then either put it in your cubby (out of fear of some other child taking it) or hold on to it for most of the morning.

You seem to have outgrown your stranger anxiety for the most part. You do request that no one apart form your parents hold you, before we head out to meet family or friends and that is fairly reasonable. You are able to keep yourself quite well occupied and you let the adults around you talk and do their thing. We have had some weekend trips this month to DC and NJ and it is getting easier to travel with you. You are still the only baby among our friends and family and you amuse the adults around you with your conversational skills.

At this stage, you seem to like smoothies. Your drink atleast half a glass each time and I throw in some greens for good measure. Your dinner which I supervise (feed) is decent but your lunch box has only come back empty once in the last 6 months! We have a long way to go before you become an excellent eater but we are taking the baby steps to get there. Like your parents, you do love eating out and keep asking to go to “mamu places”.

You are by no means ready for potty training and amma is going to stop trying for a while.I guess it really doesn’t matter in the bigger scheme of things when you get potty trained. You will hopefully be an adult or atleast a teenager when you read this and will definitely not be in diapers, so who cares at the end of the dya if you take a few more months or even a year.

This week you were home from school for a day with a nanny as your school was shut, but we had to work. You  had made a grand old fuss the day before about having a nanny when we discussed it. When the nanny came though you were so well behaved. You said “hi” to her and started showing her all your toys. You asked if I would be doing my conference calls from the same room as you and I told you I would be working behind close doors in the other room, This was not ideal in your little head, yet you didn’t say anything about it. You simply continued playing with the nanny , you ate your lunch on time and put yourself down for a nap. . Looks like all your no napping drama is saved for school and amma and appa over the weekends!

One last tid bit of conversation before I sign off, Bandar.

I was watching you through the crack of the door as you put yourself down for an afternoon nap the other day . You were kicking your legs up in the air and appeared to be in deep thought.

So later that night:

Me: Bandar, what were you thinking today when you were trying to sleep?

Bandar : I was thinking about you, Amma!

Me: Where did you think I was?

Bandar: I knew you were working in the other room. I think about you.

Me: Oh Bandar, you break my heart!

Bandar: I don’t break anything!

Love you darling goose!

– Amma

16 Responses to “Day 20 : For Bandar”

  1. Kavs January 21, 2015 at 10:45 am #

    P this is such a sweet sweet post! What a bundle of preciousness.
    My days at home with my little girl are another such blessing. Sometimes I wonder where else would I want to be – the answer comes really quick. I am happiest where I am right now. 🙂 enjoy little Bandar!
    Btw S turned 2 today and no, she hasn’t used her potty even once. Though it’s “used” by all her toys properly taking turns.

    • popgoesthebiscuit January 21, 2015 at 8:59 pm #

      Happy birthday to S! Get her balloons. That was the only thing Bandar wanted….not even cake as much. Potty training kabhi toh hoga…she’s clear that everyone around her can be trained, but it won’t make any difference to her.
      So cute about toys using the potty….hehe

      Agree about being happy right now…I sometimes get depressed about minute things and then snapout of it when I see the bigger picture…all three of us together and raising this little girl each day. They truly do change your life in every way.

  2. Dil On The Rocks January 21, 2015 at 11:12 am #

    Adorable little baby. 🙂

  3. Pepper January 21, 2015 at 11:58 am #

    I love her, you know? I really do. She stole my heart the moment I saw her. Little rockstar baby.

    I am so glad you aren’t stressing too much about the potty training bit. I know parents who go nuts, and some who others who keep rubbing in how their child was potty trained before 1 and a half. It annoys me even though I am not a parent. Glad you are giving Bandar the space.. Like another friend of mine had said, ‘It’s okay if some of them take longer than others. They’ll all be trained sooner or later. Shaadi toh nahi karenge diaper main’

    • popgoesthebiscuit January 21, 2015 at 8:52 pm #

      Peps, thanks for reading and responding despite everything around you right now. You have been on my mind so much.

      Wish we had got some pics of you and her but I guess there is always next time for that!

  4. smdeea11 January 21, 2015 at 12:29 pm #

    This post about Bandar has made me fall in love with her! Tell her I love her😃

    • popgoesthebiscuit January 21, 2015 at 8:49 pm #

      Hehe..I will pucca, you might change your mind if you saw the fuss she made for breakfast this morning, but ya she has her sweet moments:)

  5. Bhavani January 21, 2015 at 11:47 pm #

    She sounds so adorable Pop….and about Potty training dont stress..they will get a hang of it when the time comes..both my kids were 100 % diaper free by their 3rd Bday….and I was completely ok with it…

    -Bhavani

  6. More than words January 22, 2015 at 12:15 am #

    OMG!! Such an overload of cuteness and innocence… Enjoy these moments… They grow up too soon !!

  7. srividhya January 22, 2015 at 1:21 am #

    Cute letter. I started potty training for vaandu when he was 2 and a half.. They will eventually get it… The name bandar reminds me something.. I used to call vaandu, Kothi (Monkey in kannada) 🙂 He used to kick me a lot during my 3rd trimester. My mom scolded me for calling him kothi, so it became vaandu.

    • popgoesthebiscuit January 22, 2015 at 2:16 am #

      ohhh my mom scolds me for calling her monkey too..apparently some reason not to call a child a monkey. Anything else is okay with her.

  8. magic January 22, 2015 at 6:56 am #

    awww she’s soooo cute 🙂

  9. greenboochi January 28, 2015 at 9:20 pm #

    Beautiful 🙂

Leave a Reply

