Day 17 – Because its natural to have one food post follow the other

18 Jan

It’s the weekend and we are at my cousin’s new house in NJ for his housewarming ceremony this weekend. So this weekend is going to be about cooking heavy ghee laden delicacies , eating them and dressing up in my desi finery. As usual, I am realizing that this weekend blogging is really hard to do without prior planning , so I conveniently stole a tag from SriVidhya http://vidhyashomecooking.com/ at Vidhya’s Vegetarian Kitchen. I recently started reading her and love her recipe and non recipe posts. Hope you don’t mind me stealing the tag, Vidhya! So here goes:

  1. What is the first dish that you cooked?

I started cooking relatively late in life, maybe in the tenth standard. I am sure the first thing I made was Maggi for my 5 year old sister and myself when our parents were out. I also used to make her awesome tomato and cheese grilled sandwiches in our little OTG

2.What is the first dish that you cooked for your better half? (If you are not married, you can tell us what you are planning to cook for him/her)?

When we were dating I am sure the first dish I made for him was pasta. He also pampered me tons when we were dating as I was an impoverished grad student and he was a funded Ph.D candidate and we went out for almost every meal on the few weekends we spent together each year. After we were married, I cooked a ton that first year ( and ever since!) . I remember making a ton of parathas that first year , which I never, ever make now – Alu, peas etc. I am now too lazy and buy tortillas in place of rotis!

3.Which food were you reserved to try first but then liked later it since you acquired the taste?

Sadly, I think I am way too picky. For example , I hated cabbage as a kid and even now won’t touch it in any preparation. That said, I have acquired the taste now for coffee, after my roommate in gradschool introduced me to it with chocolate sauce added. I will occasionaly now order a white chocolate mocha at Starbucks when I feel like indulging

4.What is your comfort food?

Carbs, carbs and more carbs. Rice, staying true to my Tamilian genes. On an everyday basis though I crave toast and Peanut butter every morning with my tea.

5.Which dish of yours you like the best?

I make a quickie pasta sauce by mixing hummus and spicy salsa. I throw in a tons of veggies and use quinoa or multigrain pasta. I make this far too frequently for lunch and love it.

6.Which dish of yours your family likes the best?

So my mom I don’t think likes anything I have cooked much. Its all too healthified. She also finds it off putting that I cook in excess. My dad loves my pulav. The husbadoo likes almost everything I make but I think his favorite would be my occasional paneer dishes Bandar likes my pizza.

7.What is your favorite street food?

Bhel ! I used to love the street vendor who sold bhel and sev puri near our college. The husbadoo and I have had some really fun moments eating here.

8.Tell us about any of your kitchen disaster story.

I once modified a simple chocolate recipe so much that is rose but never solidified into a cake at all and overflowed into the oven and we had to clean it for days. Despite that we could smell burnt cake everytime we opened the oven. I am awful at making dosas on the non stick tawa. Again , its mostly an ‘adai’ with mixed dals but the batter never works out on the tawa. Have bought a cast iron now to hopefully rectify this

9. Any one or two food confessions 😉 😉

I have deep fried once in my life to make pakodas with a friend.

I burn food all the time by cooking on high. Learning to cook on sim.

i dislike more vegetables than I like, though I am a vegetarian

10.Apart from basic stuff, like milk, yogurt, veggies what you have in your fridge or in pantry? (Name any 3 items)

I stock tons of dried beans and pulses, maple syrup which I use in baking a lot and tons of dry fruits

11.Any food related or cooking resolutions for this year?

Too many ! Eat out less, make smoothies almost every day, make something fun on Friday nights that will keep us at home,  try out the groupon restaursnts I have stock piled,eat more dry fruits(hence the storage), make more amaranth, drink more milk, have wheatgrass as often as I can remember…phew!

12.In our custom when you goto Kasi, you need to give up one of your favorite veggie and fruit. So you cannot eat that veggie or fruit from then on. Which one you would you give up? (It should be your favorite one)

Bhindi I guess or apples.

13. You need to prepare a 3 course meal for a party? What dishes will be there in your menu?

Would go desi on this. Appetizers would be corn chaat and sev puri, main course would be dal makhni, palak paneer, alu gobi, pulav and raita, dessert would be rasmalai and brownies and vanilla ice cream.

I enjoyed this tag immensely and it got me hungry again, despite a late lunch. Off to indulge in some black bean brownies made by moi.

5 Responses to “Day 17 – Because its natural to have one food post follow the other”

  1. srividhya January 18, 2015 at 11:28 am #

    I am really glad you took the tag and glad you love my posts. Loved reading your answers. Pasta with hummus and salsa sounds interesting. Will give it a try…Have a great time with your cousin family.

  2. Vaayadi Pennu ;) January 18, 2015 at 9:13 pm #

    I’m in love with brownies from the day I was born.. so may just gatecrash for that three course meal you just wrote about. 🙂

  3. Dil On The Rocks January 19, 2015 at 6:39 am #

    You deep fried only once. 😊 That’s amazing.

    • popgoesthebiscuit January 19, 2015 at 7:47 am #

      Dont let that fool you into thinking we don’t eat fried food regularly – just store bought crap – chips galore, fries when we go out, pakodas, samosas when we go to Indian places etc. Just don’t make at home 🙂

Leave a Reply

