Day 14 : Reality

15 Jan

When it comes to television , apart from my sitcoms and dramatic shows, I have a strange fondness for competition based shows and reality shows.With regards to competition based shows, what is not to like really? I don’t watch anything related to music, singing , dance or talent. Instead I watch a ton of cooking shows and love shows like the Apprentice, Amazing Race and the Mole ( why don’t they do this every year, it was such an awesome show but I have seen just two seasons of this).There was this awesome fun show a few year ago about a couple having to hide money and have the cops question them for 48 hours. What was it called? But it was a fun watch too.

Now let’s talk about reality TV! So much to say here on this pet topic of mine. For those of you are familiar with US Television shows, have you ever watched the Real Housewives franchise? I used watch them in every city, every year. Seriously! Now I have limited myself to just the New York , New Jersey and Beverly Hills ones. This show with its catfights, and melodrama and loud , badly behaved women.

I ,of course watch, Keeping up with Kardashians and all its spin offs am very well in tune with the Kardashian gossip. Quiz me , if you like. I was upset with their divorces, I rejoice watching their weddings, I enjoy their televised child births and so on…

Have you heard of the Hills,? If not, I doubt I can explain this show very well. The Hills showed the life of two girls living and working in LA, their drama filled lives. A large part of my 2008-2010 was spent watching this show and its spin offs on the side characters.

I used to watch the Bachelor for several years. Every week for months, I watched multiple trashy girls date idiot men and vice versa. I read blogs with predictions about who would be kicked off each week and who would emerge as the chosen one. The few immediate seasons that aired after we got married in 2009, I actually got the husbadoo to watch too. My friend used to come over to watch the finale with me and we both spent many an hour backing one contestant and then the other each week. I sincerely believed that the final couple would stay together, get married and make babies and was extremely heart broken and let down when season after season, after the show stopped aired , the couple broke up. I felt terribly cheated as a mere viewer almost. I finally stopped watching the last season of this show, as I really didn’t have the time with all my other weekly shows to watch. This season however, I am watching on and off as only the first two episodes have aired and this time my viewing is a little detached and removed. I am watching for the mere drama and am not putting any money of anyone staying together.

Indian reality shows I somehow have not seen a whole lot of. My friend who has Indian channels introduced me to a desi version of the Kardashians – the Khan Sisters. I think this show even stopped airing but on my last trip to Texas, my friend and I spent fun evenings watching all episodes of this. Oh and a few years ago, I watched Rakhi Sawant pick a husband on National Television. A desi version of the Bachelorette and on the same vein, they broke up a few months in. I even watched the spin off of that show where they and some other random tv couples raised babies, toddlers, older kids, teenagers each week and got eliminated as the weeks progressed. I obviously had a whole lot of more time on my hands than I do now! Good times.

I don’t defend my reality show watching to anyone and really don’t know why it surprises some people who know me well in real life. Maybe it is because I am practical as practical can be in my real life.I have a full time job and run a home and raise a child. Why then do I spend my precious TV watching time watching this dramatic nonsense? I really don’t know. It just lets me keep my brains aside for a while, relax and enjoy the glitzy, dramatic and sometime nonsensical world they show. Its exactly what I need in my normal life and I doubt my interest will ever completely disappear.  I am probably going to be a very old woman sitting in an old age home somewhere,chuckling to myself and watching sun tanned woman in bathing suits, have cat fights and throw tables at each other!

8 Responses to “Day 14 : Reality”

  1. Dil On The Rocks January 15, 2015 at 11:14 am #

    Hahahha. I watched action, sci-fi fantasy dramas like you watch these reality shows. Even I don’t know after a tiring day of work, why I crave for this exciting shows rather than some relaxing comedy. 🙂

    Tell me about the shows over and new seasons not yet available. Its so heartbreaking. 🙂

  2. srividhya January 15, 2015 at 11:54 am #

    Hi.. first timer here 🙂 I used to watch jerseylicious, Rich kids of Beverly Hills and of course Real wives of Beverly Hills.. 🙂 Now I am hooked to these political thriller series. Currently watching Scandal.

    • popgoesthebiscuit January 15, 2015 at 8:55 pm #

      Welcome here! Glad that others watch real housewives too..hehe.Yes, Scandal is awesome. Love it.

  3. Bhavani January 15, 2015 at 11:14 pm #

    OMG I used to be obssessed with Bachelor/ette too….same pinch on reading incase I happened to miss one episode…read the commets etc……but off late no time….right now primtetime the only one I watch is MasterChef Jr…my kids love it too..so it is a family thing for us:)

    I watch a few Desi singing shows here and there…never watched Real Wives…

    So getting a kick out of watching Reality Shows is quite normal since anyways they are staged not real real I guess:)

    Bhavani

    • popgoesthebiscuit January 16, 2015 at 2:03 am #

      Masterchef Junior is awesome isn’t it. We love it so much that we sometimes feel bored watching the adults season after it.Nice family activity to do with kids.

  4. Divya January 16, 2015 at 2:09 am #

    Hi… lurker here. First time commenting but you had me hooked with the first post I read and then binged on all older posts the same day. You know the more I read your posts the more I feel that we would have been best buddies had we lived in the same city 🙂
    I’m a sucker for “reality” shows too, all housewives franchise except Atlanta, shahs of sunset, any and all crap on Bravo :)), Hindi & Kannada bigg boss…the list goes on. Now hooked on crime dramas.
    Happy New Year to u n ur little one.

    • popgoesthebiscuit January 16, 2015 at 2:58 am #

      Thanks for delurking! Your comment made my day. Wish you were in NYC, hehe. Seriously miss having a friend here.From one bravo fan to another – Ya Atlanta one, even I gave up on. Same with Miami.:)
      Happy new year to you and yours too!

Leave a Reply

