Day 12 – All eyes on my plate

13 Jan

One of the major things that has been really important to our relationship since the very beginning is the fact that both the husbadoo and I can eat. By this I mean really eat – we love food and love to eat and more often than not we love the same type of food.

During our college courtship period, there you to be a Café Coffee Day (CCD) pretty close to campus that most couples frequented. We on the other hand, used to go to a small little shack like restaurant called “Relax” which was as unfancy as you can get. No overpriced latte for us. Seriously – those lattes used to be Rs. 80 in 2005 and that kind of money can buy you a ton of yummy stuff at other places, food that would actually fill you up, unlike CCD. Besides, we both never cared for coffee.

So I remember maybe on our first or second time there at Relax, we ordered the Paneer Tava pulav and the husbadoo asked for a side of curd with it and we were given the small Amul Mast Dahi box, and we both dug in. It was one of those moments for me, when I realized that this is the guy I want to marry- I guy who doesn’t hesitate to dig in home style into his pulav with dahi on the side, just the way I like it. Apparently, these dates also showed the Husbadoo that I was the girl for him. I could easily share the huge plate of Tava Pulav AND a Pav Bhaji and eat more than my fair share of both, with no hesitation. So since the beginning I have always equaled his appetitie and zest for food  The husbadoo, over the years apart  the occasional romantic discussion as above has never really commented on my  more than “healthy” appetite” and I often wonder if he even notices . We had a conversation yesterday that showed me he is most definitely noticing.

Here goes –

We were cuddling in bed and talking in whispers after Bandar had slept for the night.

Me: I am really going to go see a doctor this week about this rib pain. I did show it to like four doctors in India and they say its purely muscular but I am worried that it could be something else.  A bigger thing that I am ignoring, something that affects my overall health.

Husbadoo : Please do see a doctor and get it checked out. I doubt if it is anything serious though, you would have had other side effects by now as you have been in pain for almost 3 months.

M: Maybe I do have other side effects. My appetite is decreasing, you know.  Not sure if you have noticed but I skipped dinner today and several other days this week.

H: Well, I noticed the several plates of food you ate at the buffet at lunch today. And I also notice that on days you skip dinner, we are missing complete packets  of Chiwda and Cookies.

M: What?? I just took two full plates at the buffet and didn’t even finish the second one.

H: Come on. You just had one less Gulab Jamun than me but you made it up with 3 pani puris and I just had one plate of food overall.  I do think your appetite is just fine

This is when I burst out laughing and almost woke up Bandar. Yes, my ever sensitive and observant husband is noticing!

12 Responses to “Day 12 – All eyes on my plate”

  1. Bhavani January 13, 2015 at 1:56 am #

    Ha ha so cute you two are… I always feel I eat more than my hubby though I am slimmer than him:-) Luckily..no feeling shy vy and all….and we always used to frequent a small eating joints and enjoy the food more than these fancy coffee and Pizza places in Blore…

    -Bhavani

    • popgoesthebiscuit January 13, 2015 at 2:06 am #

      Hehe..no feeling shy here either. Yes, always prefer the smaller places:)

  2. Dil On The Rocks January 13, 2015 at 2:37 am #

    Hahah.. Cute 🙂

  3. More than words January 13, 2015 at 5:04 am #

    The hubby and I also love eating and more often than not, we share similar tastes….

  4. smdeea11 January 13, 2015 at 8:48 am #

    Haha..
    Its good to have similarity in food!

  5. Little Fingers January 13, 2015 at 11:03 am #

    Ha ha this cracked me up me too. I can eat as much as hubby but his metabolism is way too higher than me .

    • popgoesthebiscuit January 13, 2015 at 8:17 pm #

      Ya this equal eating causwd me to gain 15 lbs in the first 1 year after marriage. Men do have faster metabolism. Now as the husbadoo turned 30, I do see him developing a slight tummy if he doesnt work out. So I guess all that eating needs to slow down soon.

  6. tandooripanipurilife January 13, 2015 at 11:12 am #

    lol…
    Count me in this group pop.. I can eat as much or even more than PK.. I specially feel embarrassed during our pizza parties with friends. Other couples order one pizza to share(wife eats 2 slices) and I shamelessly tell them to order whole pizza for me and I even finish that pizza before PK!!
    Even the parathas or any meal at home, I serve equal portions for both of us 🙂

    • popgoesthebiscuit January 13, 2015 at 8:14 pm #

      Man, who eats two slices? Seriously, even I know girls like that. Their husband finishes their meal also at the restaurant as they are full after a few bites. I also serve equal portions to both of us.

Leave a Reply

