Day 7 : This Winter

7 Jan

Today morning it was 7F (-13C) when I dropped Bandar at school. Crazy, right? This weather makes my short 10 minute walk one way seem extra long.  At one point, as we walked on one of the smaller bylanes, where the residential buildings on either side acted like almost a tunnel, the wind chill was so bad ! I pushed the stroller for half a minute with my eyes closed .I did not dare to stop, as each minute of not walking made the ordeal worse and more prolonged.

All said and done, this year we are better prepared for the winte . For one, we know what to expect. I remember I did not send Bandar in last year when the temperature was even 15 F and today, we did it like it was no big deal. Also Bandar is older this year and one year in toddler years is huge. She can actually communicate this year and tell me that she is cold.

Here is how we dress – I wear a thermal top, a sweater and then a sweatshirt. Finally I wear a thick puffy snow jacket. Bandar is also in 4 layers – an inner thermal, a polo neck thick tee shirt, a sweatshirt and then her puffy pink snow jacket. For our legs too , we wear thick thermal fleece pants below our jeans. I wear a woolen scarf, mittens and a hat, while Bandar doesn’t wear a scar f( strangulation hazard ) but wears her mittens and a hat. She did pull off her hat when we were 5 minutes away from school today, but keeps it on usually.

The part that I am struggling with this year is going down the stairs with Bandar each morning with all this gear. She is almost 10 lbs heavier than she was last year. I stuff our accessories into my back pack with he rlunch back, but I still have to carry our bulky snow coats and Bandar down the stairs. She refuses to walk down and honestly, she will take forever if I do let her walk down. Our building is almost 200 years old , so the stairs are narrow and uneven and almost sloping at some points. One wrong foot somewhere and Bandar and I will both come crashing down. We start from the fifth floor with her securely on my hip but she slides down from my hip and is almost clinging onto my legs for the last two floors. The whole time, she keeps saying-“Please don’t drop me, Amma”. I keep saying –“I have got you, darling. I won’t drop you.” But it takes ever ounce of energy I have to hold her securely and get both of us down with our things.

Once we are downstairs, I open up this little cupboard we have and pull out her stroller. I get Bandar into her coat and accessories and strap her in. I zip up her stroller’s sleeping bag around her, pull down the hood for some wind protection and then also pull down a transparent snow cover.

I then get myself into my thick jacket. I have to do this last of all as the jacket has me sweating in no time indoors, especially with any physical exertion.

And then we are all set to step out into the cold.:)

P.S. This has got to be my most pointless post ever but I am hoping to look back at this a few years from now and remember the details.

6 Responses to “Day 7 : This Winter”

  1. Dil On The Rocks January 8, 2015 at 1:59 am #

    Pointless! No way. I was actually going to ask you someday about this. One reason I am glad we have a nanny is that I dread dropping kids off at school everyday in such cold weather. I was also waiting for that phase when the kids are actually older to tell us they are cold. They are now and I still don’t want to give away my luxury. 🙂

    I never thought about living in a city…especially NYC. Its very interesting. 🙂

    • popgoesthebiscuit January 8, 2015 at 2:09 am #

      I send her to preschool only because a nanny at home , while I work from home is a bad idea. Ina smallish apartment. She just won’t let me work ya. But I am getting more disciplined about our morning routine. Lunch box is packed and ready for her the night before. Maybe different story and more chaos if I have to really dress professionally and drop her and take myself to work. I am probably the only woman in NYC without a spot of make up on in the morning. Heck, I don’t even brush my hair properly now under the winter cap. I then come home after I drop her and change into fleece pyjamas and work with hot tea.

  2. Little Fingers January 8, 2015 at 11:53 am #

    Its been freezing cold, well not as cold as there. I have my car inside the garage and I still feel super cold for those few seconds between the door and car. Hats off to you for walking pushing the stroller in this freezing cold weather.

    • popgoesthebiscuit January 8, 2015 at 8:52 pm #

      You are not in 4 layers like us, Lifi! Hehe..those few minutes from car to house or office do kill you, even if you have a thick coat on. Have realized its all about layering

  3. princessbutter January 8, 2015 at 12:04 pm #

    I was in Chicago for xmas 2012 and i remember getting very angry at my cousin bro n neice for dawdling in the apt while i was sweating in my winterwear. What an ordeal.

Leave a Reply

