Day 1: Hello new year

2 Jan

Quick note: I am giving the blogathon a shot, so here goes.

_ _  _

2015 is here and we brought it in with an impromptu trip of sorts to DC to spend a few days with our close friends. Bandar and I are semi jetlagged still ( Bandar more than me of course, but as she insists that I follow her schedule or rather wake up at the crack of dawn with her, I am in a weirdish zombie state most of the evenings. This is also because I don’t have the luxury of Bandar’s four hour mid day naps. Kids seriously have the best life, sigh!)

Right now I am sitting at my friend’s  kitchen table in their new town home and there are 4 adults in the kitchen debating if pav bhaji sandwiches with avocado slices is a good idea. So this is totally the best time to take stock of the year gone by.

Family and Relationships

The husbadoo and I found ourselves alone with Bandar for most of the year, barring a few weeks when family visited or we did. We grew strong as a unit of three and found strength in each other. My work trips made us appreciate each other more. The bond we each have with Bandar is unique and special and we each love seeing our spouse grew as a parent.We celebrated our fifth year as a married couple in 2014 and the tenth year of  our relationship. Now for the not so nice bit – our fights continue to be passionate, frequent and intense.  I would like to fight cleaner in 2015 for one and maybe less frequently.

Career

2014 was a weird year for me professionally. My work was slow and I worked remote. I was not motivated and gave up all hope of growth. I miffed up two opportunities that came my way. I grew morose and depressed as I saw others scale the corporate ladder. I sulked more than a fair bit.

That said, I am starting to realize my career this year was something I took for granted which makes me very privileged and lucky. Working remote allowed me to transition Bandar successfully to daycare and really got me almost two precious extra hours with her each day as I had no commute. What a luxury for a working mom. My career let me spend one month In India at the end of the year . It gave me time with my parents at home when they visited mid year. For all these I am blessed. 2015 may not be very different from 2014 but my attitude has to be different.

Health and fitness

Fitness first. I started strong with working out at home with exercise videos but ended weak as I lost motivation. I did yoga a grand total of once this year. How pathetic.
My triglyercides show a spike, indicated maybe by my love of carbs. Pasta was cooked for home lunches far too often this year. Amaranth was made maybe twice. Terrible year for healthy eating.
I had a nasty cough that gave me some serious rib damage. Damage I am still trying to fix several weeks in. I hardly took my calcium or multivitamin either. My pcos maybe also in return but I haven’t even found a gynec in NYC yet. My teeth are semi fine from my mid year appointment but I was negligent on flossing after this wonderful news and am probably due for some fillings. TMI , I know. Anyway…2015 is hopefully when I take better care of myself.

Vacations

Puerto Rico in May, Orlando in September, India in December. Wish we had the means for more but we did what we could with visa issues, tight budgets and limited vacation time

Friendships

Let’s see – I joined a book club and befriended some fun women. I bonded with a few school mothers of Bandar’s friends.I missed our group in Austin during the festivals and other celebrations. But this year I am going to work a little harder to create some meaningful relationships with a few old acquaintances in NYC. Have people over, make the effort to schedule those brunches. Take the time to make the NJ all day trip.

So with this quick review, I am going to bid goodbye to 2014. Here we come 2015 , open arms and all. Do be kind.

5 Responses to “Day 1: Hello new year”

  1. Little Fingers January 2, 2015 at 1:36 pm #

    That was a nice retrospection of year 2014. I will do a similar post now that we have to post for next 30 days 🙂

    • popgoesthebiscuit January 2, 2015 at 9:45 pm #

      I know..I need ideas for the next 30 days too. I mentally find myself composing posts. Hopefully will remember and type them out.

  2. Pepper January 2, 2015 at 2:59 pm #

    Good to read about your year. Just did an introspective post of sorts myself. I think most of us are not focusing on health the way we should. Should really correct that.

    By the way, I had never heard of amaranth and coincidentally I just got myself a big bunch. How do you usually make it?

    • popgoesthebiscuit January 2, 2015 at 9:44 pm #

      Agree, as I turn 30 this year, I want to really make my health a priority.
      I just follow one very basic morning porridge/cereal kind of recipe for amaranth, yaar.Wash and soak it overnight in water.Wash and drain well the next day.Boil on the stove top with equal parts water and milk. You may add almond milk instead if you want to get a little fancy.Throw in tons of dry fruits – walnuts, almonds, raisins and dates. I even do prunes sometimes.With the dry fruits in there , you won’t need a lot of sweetener. I use a few small lumps of jaggery. Boil on low and the amaranth gets cooked and mushy almost and thickens. Switch off without burning. I then ladle into bowls and add more warm milk to make it more liquidyand cereal like. I make a huge batch of this and store it in the fridge to eat through the week. You simply have to heat with some extra milk each time or even eat it cold.It’s like dalia porridge but way healthier.
      I know amaranth bakes really well but I haven’t experimented at all.WIll send you a recipe if I find one that I like.

  3. Dil On The Rocks January 3, 2015 at 11:41 am #

    Hey.. One day yoga is better than zero (like me 🙂 ) Nice to read about your year. 🙂

Leave a Reply

