Let’s go to the mall

23 Dec

So my in laws bang opposite a mall in Bombay and in the two weeks I spent with them, Bandar and I ended up at the mall atleast once a day.Random thoughts…

Bandar is seriously a fun lilttle girl at clothing stores. I have to hold up two colorful kurtis in front of her and ask her which one is better. She will almost always pick the one, I would myself. She will then insist I buy it but there are only so many kurtis a girl can own. Then I have to usher her out before the tears start with some distraction.

There are always ample distractions . There is the train that Bandar loved. Then the remote control cars.The irritating guy with the controls would be sitting in a corner but insist on starting up the car everytime a toddler passed. As if on cue,Bandar would ask for a ride.Some days I obliged and on others I shamelessly fibbed that the car wasn’t working.

The food! OMG. The restaurants at every price range. The food court. Seeing sari clad aunties animatedly ordering the subway sandwiches.A group of school boys at the Mad over Doughnuts store. For me, there was all the desi modified fast food to try. I got a tummy bug before I had my fill of these sadly. I am talking desi taco bell and paneer zinger at KFC. Someone please tell me how these were.

The prices blow me away each time. I am talking furniture and clothes stores. Are people really ready to 90k for a sofa? Is that normal? Maybe its because I have never worked in India and prices in my head are all 2006 prices. Still, I can’t imagine shelling out that much in rupees for a couch. Isn’t it close to the post tax amount a upper middle class family might make a month?$ 1500 seems an awful amount in dollars too. But then I haven’t bought nice furniture in a while or ever. Someone enlighten me please.

I loved seeing older aunties check out treadmills and exercise bikes. Fitness seems to be gaining importance in people’a lives. This is in line with the random protein supplement shops I see sprouting up all over the city and. Awesome.This I love.

How can I not mention the awesome people watching. I loved seeing older people, dressed up almost to go the mall. Were they having dinner at one of the nicer restaurants, I wondered? My favorite mentally saved image is that of an old uncle and aunty sharing a bowl of ice cream by the mall fountain. They did not appear to have any shopping bags, and seemed to be almost on a date. Malls appear to be a safe environment for couples of all ages to hang out. Away from parental supervision, a place to stroll around in the air conditioning , hand in hand or canoodle in a corner. I played a mental game of counting the couples and imagining their story. Did they work together, go to high school or college?I can almost imagine the conversation at a home where a girl bids goodbye to her mom, saying she’s going to the mall with friends only to meet up with this less than desirable guy.

I was having this conversation with a friend that India is now like the US of the 70s and I really think this mall culture is a huge part of this era and here to stay. I know I should probably be disappointed about smaller local shops dying out and thinking about the bigger picture of supporting the smaller artisans, local brands etc but funnily enough I am not. I got to grab a movie with my sister while my almost senior citizen parents spent a few joyful hours with their grandchild on aforementioned rides, food court and riding up escalators.What’s to hate about that?

9 Responses to “Let’s go to the mall”

  1. liliputs December 23, 2014 at 3:09 pm #

    😀 india is becoming crazy 😀 😀 one such evidence is the cost plush in the decor area 🙂 people still go gaggga after purchasing….

    • popgoesthebiscuit December 23, 2014 at 10:32 pm #

      Glad I am not the only one who finds this ridiculously expensive.

      • liliputs December 23, 2014 at 10:48 pm #

        Lol… There are many like us… And most of the time we concentrate too way much on non living thing than that of living thing

  2. Zarine Mohideen December 23, 2014 at 5:37 pm #

    People watching is my number one favorite activity! I also love listening to snippets of peoples conversations as they walk past but I’m not a creepy eavesdropper lol. Also, house opposite a mall? Wow, that’s super convenient!

    • popgoesthebiscuit December 23, 2014 at 10:25 pm #

      Not creepy at all:) I do it too when I get the chance. Ya, really convenient.

  3. princessbutter December 23, 2014 at 9:04 pm #

    Love sitting in a mall. Its a convenient date spot when meeting in pune.
    About people watching? I can mortally not study in a library. I am staring openly at people the whole time!

    • popgoesthebiscuit December 23, 2014 at 10:27 pm #

      Totally into people watching here too:)
      Must be apparent in my posts.

  4. Dil On The Rocks December 24, 2014 at 12:17 pm #

    Haha. I haven’t realized people watching is an activity My mom loves malls too. I don’t like crowds much, so I am not a big fan of malls, but ever since AbhiAchu, malls is where we spend time, trying to be indoors because of cold weather.
    I get surprised with price changes too. Really jaw dropping. Hope the rest of the trip is going well. When are you back?

    • popgoesthebiscuit December 26, 2014 at 11:44 am #

      Back on Sunday. Has been fun and will miss family but somehow looking forward to getting home now.

Leave a Reply

