Random Again!

21 Nov

Here we go with some randomness from our lives:

  • In the last 24 hours, I have had 8 slices of Pizza. Yes, this is the size of a complete medium pizza. So I was swamped with work and bored to cook yesterday, we decided to order pizza. Now the options were a large pizza from a really nice store or 3 medium pizzas from a chain for a few dollars more. What do you think we choose? The 3 mediums, of course. Bandar , who was recovering from a bout of fever and had not eaten much at all for a few days , perked up soon as I mentioned that pizza was being delivered soon. She ate a slice and took a few bites of one more. This 1.25 pizza slice eating spree of hers made me so happy!
  • As Bandar was sick, I had a nanny at home, from the back up care option my company offers , for a few hours each day this week to watch her. As I work from home, it means I sneak away to work in the guest room, while the nanny watches Bandar in the living room and other bedroom. On Tuesday , the husbadoo was working from home too. So we were cooped up in the guest room – sadly, working! Hmmm..conference calls and faculty apps do not lead to any sort of romantic moments.
  • I am going through such mixed emotions about my India trip which is in a week. I am excited and nervous. Nervous only because the husbadoo isn’t going to be with us and I am spending two weeks with his family , without him. I am a grown ass woman, so I need to snap out of this nervy Nellie mode and deal with it. I did this last year too but it was for a shorter time and also certain things have happened since then..things have been said on both sides and though we Skype and chat with my in laws almost each weekend, and I have long phone conversations with them as well, we somehow never talk about the mean things that were said and I just feel being under the same roof for two weeks might make some of these uncomfortable conversations happen and I am really nervous it. My strategy is to try to spend several hours outdoors, visiting relatives and showing Bandar Bombay.
  • Maybe it is my recent Austin visit, but I am having some weird blues since I have been back. The whole career not going anywhere from working remote thing, the whole OMG we need to make more to survive in NYC thing, we are 30 – when is this phase going to be done thing! But snuggled between the husbadoo and Bandar each night I realize that being together right now is the only thing that matters right now. I just need to hold on to that happy thought during the day.
  • I am researching elliptical trainers to buy this holiday season. I lack the dedication to work out on a mat at home and maybe seeing a machine in the house will motivate me to get on. I am getting ready to make the $$$ investment but already feel sorry for the delivery guys who will have to bring up a 100 lb machine up 5 floors. This has got to be human cruelty.
  • I started using a slow cooker. I have an electric pressure cooker which I love and the slow cooker option was something I had not tried at all till recently. The only problem is that my house smells of delicious desi spices for about 6-8 hours as I work and I constantly feel hungry. Yes, the elliptical is much needed.
  • Our 4th floor neighbors finally removed their Halloween decorations. The frightening skeleton had been on for 45 days now as he had gone up well before Halloween. Bandar was petrified and refused to climb the stairs! I made up several stories of him being a regular boy who had simply refused to eat his food and had hence reduced to a mass of bones and been thrown out of his house, and though she listen to this story each day , she didn’t pity him or befriend him at all.  So imagine hauling almost 30 lbs up several flights of stairs. Add a few more pounds for our winter gear.
  • Oh and this foolish story has to be told here. A few weeks ago, I absentmindedly got Bandar downstairs without shoes! I decided in one foolish moment that I had no energy to take her back up, so gave her strict instructions to sit on the bottom step and wait for me , while I ran up to get them. What a stupid, stupid idea as our building faces a busy main road and residents keep coming in and out in the morning hours and Bandar is just two . Bandar was safe for those maybe 3 minutes but gave a resounding scream when one of the residents wanted to cross her on the bottom step. I almost fell down the stairs getting to her. Even though nothing happened, I tortured myself by thinking of the “what if” scenarios. I gave Bandar terribly tight hugs that morning and all she randomly said was “I love you too and I am your child, Amma. I will scream if anyone comes near my step, Amma ”.
  • I have so many random tasks to do in the next few days but the most fun one is getting holiday cards made. I scanned our computers for a nice family picture from the year, but I only have one suitable one of us from vacation in April and we are in summer clothes. Do we need to be in fall or winter clothing for holiday cards? So we have requested our one, sole friend in NYC to take a few of us this Sunday.
  • Second on the fun list to do, is getting a mini Christmas tree .Bandar is old enough to understand now and is so excited to decorate it. As Bandar and I will be in India on Christmas Day, we plan to celebrate it with the husbadoo on Dec 27th when we are back. Excited!
  • We are sadly missing the most magical time of the year in NYC.I am not unhappy about missing the cold, but do wish our previous India trip plans had materialized with Diwali in India and Christmas in NYC together. But there is always next year I guess !
10 Responses to “Random Again!”

  1. tandooripanipurilife November 21, 2014 at 5:09 am #

    You know how two friends feel when they meet after long time adn sit and chat for hours together?? I am feeling the same way reading all your random updates.
    Have fun in India, all the best for the trip Pop 🙂
    I know you are lying in your second point, last line 😛 😛 😛

    • popgoesthebiscuit November 21, 2014 at 9:45 pm #

      That is such a sweet thing to say, TPL. Even I feel really connected to some readers through reading their posts…yours definitely. Glad this came across as a personal coffee chat!
      Kuch nahin hua yaar..we were good kids:):)

  2. princessbutter November 21, 2014 at 5:58 am #

    I hope you guys are okay with all that snow around! I am writing this sitting outside the office lunchroom while the sun warms my neck..:D sending some warmth your way…. Get the summer picture done. Happy reminder of pleasant weather. Haha.
    PS-Even I think you are lying in your second point.

    • popgoesthebiscuit November 21, 2014 at 9:48 pm #

      I do envy you! Well, we have like some apps out to Cali in general…let’s see which univ if any calls the H in . Need all the luck in the world.
      Then I will sitting with you at the beach sipping fru fru drinks! No snow yet but 29F that feels like 17F today. Bandar looks like an eskimo.
      And sachi mein kuch nahin hua:) Now I am worried what the young babysitter thought about us behind closed doors!

      • princessbutter November 21, 2014 at 10:26 pm #

        Damn! I am gonna pray real hard that you guys get to move here. It would be cooler if its in SoCal!

      • popgoesthebiscuit November 22, 2014 at 1:28 am #

        Thanks re…:)Need it

  3. magic November 22, 2014 at 6:54 am #

    Wow your going to India…. and your gonna stay in in-lwas place for two weeks, i just go to my in-lwas place in the morning n come back in the evening maybe twice or thrice in my whole stay thats it…. your great all the best….:)

    • popgoesthebiscuit November 22, 2014 at 7:15 am #

      Haha…doing it to be fair and just avoid all controversial situations. Besides, the way I saw it was my folks visited this year and in laws did not…so they should get some time with their grandkid. I am also doing this at the first part of the trip to relax later on. Let’s see bow it goes:)

  4. Dil On The Rocks November 25, 2014 at 3:26 am #

    Have a great vacation. 🙂

    Regarding leaving Bandar at the stairs. You know, sometimes I am like that too. I do things that shouldn’t be done and I almost kill myself thinking about what could have happened and thanks God that it didn’t. And wondering how I could do a thing like that. Hope you are feeling better about it now.

    • popgoesthebiscuit November 25, 2014 at 9:44 am #

      Ya the what if guilt…I am over it now almost as it has been a few weeks but need to be smarterwhen I make quick decisions related to safety etc

Leave a Reply

