Daddy’s Little Girl

4 Nov

Even if I don’t write about anything else that happened in September, I need to quickly blog about my Dad’s visit. He spent about two weeks with us right after Bandar’s birthday and it was a much needed change for all of us. After the business part of his trip was over, he spent his days at home with me and it was fun to take a break from work during the day to play a game of Scrabble or Chinese Checkers with him or to have someone to make some ginger tea for.

Bandar , who has always been extremely  fond of my mom but never really spent a lot of alone time with my dad clung to him within a few days of his arrival and waited for him to return from work in the evenings.  He took over school pick up and drop off duties during those ten days and took Bandar to the park every evening. For once, I was glad to live in NYC as it meant he could go about without being depending on us to drive him around. He watched Bandar all evening as I cooked or worked and she now sings quite a few Kishore Kumar songs in her strong American accent. It’s such a riot to watch her.

Bandar sadly still doesn’t sit down patiently for a slightly complicated Enid Blyton story and prefers simple books with tons of pictures but nevertheless I think she did enjoy the stories he told her.

We tried to keep our trips outside Bandar centric and managed a museum visit and a zoo visit. Surprisingly dad enjoyed these as much as Bandar.

I had the task of coming up with healthy meals all through his visit . Given that he doesn’t eat rice and that I don’t make rotis, this was quite a challenge. Let’s just say I introduced him to whole wheat tortillas and quinoa on this visit. But he was a sport and ate and complimented everything. This trip also was perhaps the first time, my dad saw me as a real adult – running a full household, managing a toddler and of course, working.  Somehow we have always had some form of help during his last few visits, unlike the do-it-yourself life we lead currently.

I think I have posted this before here, my wedding probably happened only thanks to my dad. After 3 years of riding the parental disapproval wave, I broke down once on a family holiday in San Francisco and I think seeing my sob miserably did it for him. That appears to have been the turning point in his view of my relationship and from that point on, he arranged the family meetings with the husbadoo’s folks , convinced his parents and spent several months trying to convince my maternal relatives. Him orchestrating the whole thing really means a whole lot more to me than I ever let him know.

. At this point, us going back home for good remains a very distant possibility. So I worry about aging parents and often wonder if mine will ever agree to stay with us for a few months when they retire. Their longest trip here has been 3 weeks and I wonder how they will fare if they were to stay a few months. In the meantime, these refreshing , short visits are precious memories I cling on to and think fondly about as I go about my day.

4 Responses to “Daddy’s Little Girl”

  1. princessbutter November 4, 2014 at 10:22 pm #

    Your last paragraph! Same same. 😦

  2. Dil On The Rocks November 5, 2014 at 11:39 am #

    How sweet of your dad. 🙂 Parents do everything for us. 🙂

  3. Little Fingers November 10, 2014 at 5:24 am #

    Precious moments indeed. Before I read the post I thought it was about bandar, reading the title. I hope you get to stay longer with them once they retire.

Leave a Reply

