#100Happydays : Catching you up on the Happy

28 Aug

I can ‘t believe it has been so long since my last post. A week plus is a long time when you plan on blogging regularly.
The last few days have been hectic but have had spots of happy and I want to make sure to document a few.

– We went on a family bike ride in Central Park on Sunday. We rented 2 bikes for us and a child seat for Bandar , who rode behind the husbadoo and did the 6 mile loop with lots of stops to take in the sights, allow Bandar to “run around”(as she says loudly – “I am soooooo done. I need to run around now.Our little girl is developing quite an attitude.), and to picnic.
At a point during our picnic, the husbadoo looked at me and just smiled. When I asked him why, he said “We are living out your dream now!You have been asking for a picnic at the park for ages now and we finally did it!” Yes , we did!
My most happy moments of the day were relaxing on the Great Hill with the husbadoo resting his head on my lap and Bandar lying sprawled on his tummy,spotting turtles with Bandar by the boathouse and stopping to watch a game of Quidditch ! This last one was so entertaining seeing everyone run around on their brooms. Did you know there is an actual muggle quidditch world cup? I didn’t , till the husbadoo told me this week.
Brilliant, right?

 

– We have a house guest staying with us – a cousin of a friend as she is starting grad school in NYC and doesn’t have her apartment ready to move in yet. At first I was hesitant about taking this on as I really did not know how it would be to have a person I had never met into our space. Surprisingly, touchwood this has been a breathe of fresh air. And I somehow manage to put food on the table at the end of each day and have some company in the evenings as the husbadoo works late this week.

– Bandar’s daycare is shut for 10 days for an end of summer break!Ridiculous, right?Considering we paid a hefty fee for the month. Anyway, I am making full use of my 100 hours of subsidized childcare from an agency my company contracts with and have had some decent nannies fill in a few hours each day. Bandar is surprisingly taking to them quite well.

– We planned an impromptu holiday! This might not have been very financially wise considering the amount we spent on last minute tickets, but its Bandar’s last chance to fly free before she turns two in a few weeks and the husbadoo kept pushing for a getaway. This is really odd as it is usually me who brings up vacation discussions, plans et al. But I am excited for this short Friday- Monday trip we are going to do.

– I started and finished the second season of The Mindy Project in record time. OMG – I freaking love this show! For those of you who like chickflicks and have not seen this show yet, please , please do.

I dont know why I took so long to watch season 2.Since we cut cable after moving to NYC, I miss my DVR’d shows. Searching for online links is a task in itself.  To my joy, Hulu which we have a monthly subscription for has the entire season. So I did some marathon viewing sessions and now I am ready to convince the hsubadoo to watch this show and rewatch with him for the second time!

Spoiler alert ahead: Are there any other real life – Mindy and BJ Novak fans out here??I keep thinking that her and Danny’s relationship on the show is modeled to a large degree on her real life bff realtionship with BJ. Sadly, they are currently not dating each other or anybody else(I think from what I have read on the celebrity gossip sites). Hope Season 3 isn’t too rough on Danny and Mindy. I really dont want another Ross and Rachel saga ride out for 10 seasons – meant to be together, tried it, didnt work and off for several seasons, only to have a stupid , cliched together end. I really hope they end this series in 3-4 seasons and keep this couple together with minor tiffs , issues (all fixable) between them. But I guess that is hoping for too much.

– I have significantly made our weekday dinners simpler after I read some of the comments on my recent food related post. Thanks for the comments all! I have made quite a few simple things like mixed dals, thicker dosas with various lentil, quinoa combinations, and a few simple salads recently. I made a more elaborate Thai spread over the weekend and somehow I think that is the balanced approach  I need to continue following through the next few weeks too.

– The husbadoo is working terribly long hours and playing cricket for a day each weekend and Bandar and I are left to our own devices quite a bit. We are growing closer and actually have full conversations now which is really neat. The weather being good allows us to go for stroller walks, library visits, playground time, duck viewing time at the lake and impromptu picnics. Bandar so much as sees a bench in the park and says she is hungry and wants to eat! I have made a conscious effort to do zero screen time when I watch her on my clock and so far I have been able to entertain her successfully without our laptops and tablets. This self imposed restriction was because I realized we tended to switch on nursery rhymes for her a tad too often recently and we had to make a change. The American Association of Pediatrics suggests zero hours I think till 2 years of age and our doctor has told us this is for purely brain development and not eyesight related at all. I personally thought she was learning a ton from the TV shows she saw – she learnt to use words like “peep”, “pounce” , “curious” accurately by 22 months which I thought was really cool. But despite that, I am trying my best to limit /eliminate her hours of viewing and I don’t think she is even missing it.

 

That’s all for now, folks! I will post again soon and formally accept an award from TPL and answer some fun questions! Thanks for the nomination, girl!

 

7 Responses to “#100Happydays : Catching you up on the Happy”

  1. Dil On The Rocks August 29, 2014 at 6:36 am #

    Yayy on the picnic. Sounds nice. And have a great time on the vacation. About the screen time, its not recommended for kids 2 and under. Learning is good at the beginning, but you will slowly see them all immersed, watching the same thing again and again. They don’t learn as much but just stare.

  2. popgoesthebiscuit August 29, 2014 at 8:18 am #

    Right, they do get immersed. Bandar loves to watch these series of YouTube videos called” appu series nursery rhymes”. They play in a loop for about 30 minutes and she has seen them about 50 times now and memorized them. She started getting obsessed with them though and asked for them every time she saw a comp or tablet. We also found that we could do our thing if we let her watch and slowly started depending on it. So somehow pulling the plug on it seems best for now.

  3. tandooripanipurilife August 29, 2014 at 11:05 am #

    Ohhh you going for holidays??? yay!! Where are you traveling to? Click some pictures for us too, okie? 🙂
    Husbadoo has been very busy eh, it will be good to spend family time even if it is for 3-4 days. Enjoy & have loads of fun 🙂

    • popgoesthebiscuit September 2, 2014 at 5:26 am #

      We went to Disney World in Florida, TPL. Back and refreshed:)

  4. princessbutter August 29, 2014 at 9:48 pm #

    Sounds awesome! Aaah, NYC ❤
    Where are you going? I am going to Portland.

    • popgoesthebiscuit September 2, 2014 at 5:27 am #

      Portland has been on our must visit list for a while now.
      We went to Orlando..Disney and Cocoa Beach. Short break but good

  5. magic September 1, 2014 at 10:21 pm #

    Happy holidays have loads fun 🙂

Leave a Reply

