Weekend in bullets

5 Aug

– My Friday last week was really light so I joined Bandar’s preschool picnic at Central Park. Bandar was just so excited that I was coming and had told her teachers and all her friends. I wish I had captured her expressions when she saw me at the park entrance ,but then there are some images you never forget and this was one for me.
– I got to see toddlers playing baseball. Its the funniest sight ever. One teacher helps one team throw and the other teacher helps them hit and then everyone runs around like crazy in circles and then randomly try to pick up the ball, irrespective of teams. Its just pure entertainment. Bandar stuck to me a little as expected but seemed to be having a blast.I noticed every single kid had a different personality and it was really interesting to see who participated and who didn’t. —– Then it was time for lunch. I had made  whole wheat pizza dough the night before and also a tomato sauce . I had woken up early in the morning with much grumbling to chop veggies and grate the cheese and bake her a pizza for lunch. I was grumbling as Bandar has been an irritatingly predictable hater of everything I have made her in the last week. I thought the pizza wouldn’t fare any better but her I was pleasantly shocked to see she loved it. Yeah!
-I took her home after lunch and she had a lovely 3.5 hour nap. I then took her to the Children’s museum. She has been there twice before at 15 and 18 months ,but now at almost 23 months its amazing how differently she interacts with the exhibits. I was exhausted but this day was such a fun one .
-The only bad thing about Friday was that Bandar in a tussle over a toy or something had hit her best friend at school and her teachers and I had a discussion on how to handle this hitting business.
We decided to take away her Little People family ( featured

here

https://popgoesthebiscuit.wordpress.com/2014/05/27/vacation-recap-part-1/

) for a day till the message was clear.

– Saturday ,the husbadoo with a little help from me cleaned the house as his friend from Austin was visiting for the day.
We went out for a really late brunch ( guess normal lunch) to one of our newly discovered highly affordable in the city places for brunch. Bandar choose to take a nap in her stroller which meant we had a leisurely time ordering and eating. She woke up just in time to eat my fries with plenty of ketchup!
-We then walked to campus which meant lots of relaxing on grass for us all and then made our way to central park after a short detour for bubble tea! The husbadoo went off for a stroll with his friend to show him some parts of the park and I stayed with Bandar at one of our favorite playgrounds and negotiated sandbox politics. This is harder than it sounds as it involves stopping crying and  fighting over sand toys and involves getting sand in  your flats as you step in to intervene .You then have to pull out your ugly toes and feet with much chipped nail paint in front of snobby NYC moms who take one quick glance and then shudder and look away,to try and get the sand out. Even then you are left with the dirty feet feeling and just yearn for a warm soak in the bath tub.
-We made yummy pizzas for dinner and I got Bandar to bed.
We then as usual bribed our guest with lusciously soft marble cake from Whole Foods to stay for board games and played for a good 2 hours.  So good Saturday overall.

-Sunday morning was slowish at home with Skype et al .We took Bandar to a fun new playground by the pier ,overlooking the river for a change. We ended up having dinner at Taim, a veggie falafal bar. This comes a close second to Austin’s kabablicious for me but definitely the best I have had in NYC so far. We ordered fries again ,a huge serving again!
-As Bandar had another hitting spree with me on the subway,she promptly had her dolls confiscated again . Her adorable,  “Sorry ,Amma.I never hit you again” and pleas of ” But I said sorry ” did not bring them back.
She finally came up with – “I be good girl, I get them back “,said in a meltingly earnest voice full of resolve. Sadly she got them back on Monday evening only to lose them another 1 hour later when she hit out at her dad. My feisty little monkey is rather too free with her hands and has a few important lessons to learn here.

-We ended the weekend by breaking a beautiful glass bottle with cumin seeds in the kitchen and I had wonderful one hour cleaning it up.Not!! Despite all precautions,Bandar had a shard of glass enter her  palm and had a doctors visit today to get it out. And we of course,  have no cumin for our meals till I either A) make an NJ Indian store visit or B) give in to the thieving NYC grocery stores and buy it for 4 times its price.

So that was our weekend !Pretty routine with playgrounds, fries and hitting toddlers.

7 Responses to “Weekend in bullets”

  1. Pepper August 5, 2014 at 6:28 pm #

    Oopsie. Hope Bandar was not too hurt with the glass piece! Other than that, I see you guys had a fun weekend. And hey! Board games! You guys too? We love playing for hours. Unfortunately, not all our friends can match our enthusiasm to play. So we keep roping in pals, whenevr we can.

    Which games are you guys playing?

    • popgoesthebiscuit August 5, 2014 at 8:34 pm #

      Bandar was really brave at the doctor and is fine now. We love board games and like you have a hard time finding people to play. Most need 3-4 players to make it fun..we played Settlers of Catan and Ticket to Ride. Both are really good fun. Next on our list to buy is Risk. Which ones have you guys played?

  2. Dil On The Rocks August 6, 2014 at 12:01 am #

    I liked your weekend. Its something like mine. All baby centered. Hope Bandar is doing better now. This weekend, my son broke the wall clock (by standing on it. Don’t ask me how) and had a small tear too. 🙂 🙂 This proves all monkeys are the same. 🙂

    • popgoesthebiscuit August 6, 2014 at 12:19 am #

      Oh wow..wall clock! Hope tear isn’t major. Btw, Do your kids fight each other or other kids? I didn’t know if sharing etc was easier to teach twins than a single child.

      • Dil On The Rocks August 6, 2014 at 5:06 am #

        No major fights. Its defn easy with twins because we have the need to share, so we teach. One thing was that I started out to teach them early about sharing. So they have pretty good idea. They wait. Once in a while the toy is so good that they cant share. 🙂 But they are in constant learning, right. I tell them sometimes they have to share with me too. That helps.

  3. Kavs August 6, 2014 at 7:43 pm #

    Oh…hope Bandar’s cut wasn’t bad and didn’t hurt…:( our sweet lil girl has started throwing tantrums – I can see what’s coming. Terrible Twos!

    • popgoesthebiscuit August 6, 2014 at 7:51 pm #

      She’s doing fine, thanks:) The terrible twos are a real thing! I started believing that only recently. And never again will I see other badly behaved kids and judge their parenting. It all comes back to bite you in the a**

Leave a Reply

