#100HappyDays – Some recent happies

30 Jul

– We took Bandar to the Brooklyn Botanical Gardens this last weekend and part from the long train ride , she had a blast. I really did not think  she would care for plants or flowers at this age and she didn’t.But she loved running on the green lawns, spotting fish in the huge koi pond and just being out of doors with her parents.
The husbadoo and I had a nice relaxing time sitting and lying on the grass as Bandar played around . Seriously need to do this more often as a family.

image

She spent far too much time looking at this wall and asking why the baby was “nangu” ( naked) . My observant little monkey!

– Breakfast on weekdays with fruit, greek yogurt , whole wheat flakes and chia. Seriously delish!It keeps me full for ages too.

image

– Making my own Greek yogurt at home!The cheapest Greek yogurt in NYC is seriously at Whole Foods! I know I was shocked too. And even here is is 7 bucks for 16 ounces! Robbery! Anyway my birthday gift to myself was a Greek yogurt maker. Considering I have been having issues with yogurt not setting in the winter months here, this machine is going to solve the regular yogurt which we need with Indian food issue and the Greek yogurt for breakfast issue. Two birds one stone and all that. So I have been putting this little guy to good use and have seriously decadent Greek yogurt each morning. Oh and the strainer in the equipment is perfect for washing quinoa and amaranth . So a lot of uses for this gadget.

– The husbadoo was traveling for work for a few days and Bandar displayed some golden behavior . I was dreading early morning rising as that is usually the husbadoo’s area but on Monday morning when I  handed her a bottle of milk at 5 am and told her to snuggle next to me, she did exactly that. We finally woke up at 8:30 am and had a late start but those 3 odd hours snoozing with my baby girl were amazingly refreshing.

– The after burn you get when you work out after ages! I am trying to start some sort of a fitness routine using my Jillian Michaels videos and I am sore in places I never knew I had muscles in. Anyway, they say this after burn burns some calories too so I will take that !

– Our fifth floor walk up! I never thought I will be putting this into a happy post but these 76 steps ( yes, I counted) that I climb twice every day and at least one of those times with 25 odd pounds of baby strapped to me are helping me not gain any more weight. I obviously need to do some toning but otherwise this and the 1 mile walk to drop and pick up Bandar is taking care of my daily cardio.

– Finishing a good book. Our book club is doing the – The amazing adventures of kavalier and clay and I loved every bit of this 685 page book. A longish read but a nice one after a while.

– I am catching up on Desi episodes of Masterchef India 2013. Omg! I love the challenges – a Desi pizza challenge, restaurant wars but in a dhaba..really fun to watch . I fast forward the silly songs and irritating TV celebrities who pop in though. 

– Some pretty perfect Pav Bhaji made by yours truly. I need to do a post on only food as I am in some sort of cooking rut . I came out of my hole to make one good dish after ages and am now going to go back into strike mode. Cooking has become boring and I need some fresh ideas so food post will definitely be done this week.

10 Responses to “#100HappyDays – Some recent happies”

  1. princessbutter July 30, 2014 at 10:52 pm #

    I loved Masterchef 2013! I really liked Devyani and Ripu.
    You getting a great workout! I have never tried Jillian’s cuz I just cannot work out at home. But I have heard a lot about her videos. She makes you SWEAT!

    • popgoesthebiscuit July 30, 2014 at 10:57 pm #

      Ohh you have seen MC India. Please don’t tell me who won..I am only half way through:) Yes, I like Ripu and Devyani too. And the cutie judge chef Vikas. Apparently he has an NYC restaurant ..I might just have to check it out!! Dude, I just started working out at home because I dont want to spend 150/ month here for a gym membership. Jillian is amazing. Her 30 day shred helped me shed a ton of post baby weight. I am doing her longer work outs now and they are fab but hard on my knees for some reason.. Lots of lunges and squats and think I am doing them wrong. They are on YouTube if you ever wanna try them.

      • princessbutter July 30, 2014 at 11:03 pm #

        Vikas is adorable! My favorite.
        If your knee hurts, I strongly suggest getting a knee support for squats. Or take support against the wall with a Medicine ball from Ross or Marshalls. They are like $10 there. I stopped spinning classes because I felt it was hard in my knee.
        I have an LA fitness membership for 60 bucks a year! 😀 My company has this wellness program and also gives $10 a week for a specialty class and other perks. It funds my belly dancing.

      • popgoesthebiscuit July 30, 2014 at 11:15 pm #

        What do you mean by knee support? A knee brace? Is it over the counter or do I have to see a doc?
        Oh I have a ball from Ross, just not even blown it up as no space to use it here..no spare wall. I am not kidding about how cramped this place is. And Bandar would burst the ball or something if I do blow it up. I used to love doing squats against a wall with it though in Texas. That’s a great membership you have and nice perk too. Our company gym was 20 a month but that was the only fitness perk! I would do yoga or Pilates if I got $10 a week. I cannot dance at all ya..2 left feet …so damn awkward ..

      • princessbutter July 30, 2014 at 11:40 pm #

        Hehehe. We even get $200 grocery gift cards if we avg 5 workouts in a week per quarter. Its fabulous! (Touchwood)
        I think you will get the knee brace/support in a sports store. Check big 5 or sports authority. It is meant to support knees during weight lifting or leg exercises. My mom uses a very basic one for her walks since her knees are weak now. The normal beige one you get in India.

      • popgoesthebiscuit July 31, 2014 at 1:54 am #

        Love that idea of 5 work outs a week for a qtr. That’s really solid. And I would do it for 200 bucks. Do you have to log them somewhere or do they just believe you? Such a great incentive

      • princessbutter July 31, 2014 at 2:01 am #

        We have to use mapmyfitness app or the gym has our recorded check ins. If we do events like food packaging or 5ks, we can submit receipts and pics. We get 25 bucks reimbursements for the runs too! It sure has made me fitter!

  2. Dil On The Rocks August 5, 2014 at 1:46 am #

    Bandar looks so adorable. Lol on the nangu question. A right one, though. 🙂

    • popgoesthebiscuit August 5, 2014 at 9:51 am #

      Oh yes..she is awfully good at spotting nangus..be it in real or statues.

      • Dil On The Rocks August 6, 2014 at 5:03 am #

        Haha… The advantage of living in NYC? 😀

Leave a Reply

