Of long weekends at home, sick babies and cooking disasters

8 Jul

The husbadoo and I like to think back to our favorite vacation trips together and play vacation themed fun memory games from time to time.  These include sharing a random picture and making the other person guess where it was taken, list our top 5 burgers eaten on holiday and top 5 sunsets seen etc. It makes us count our blessings for the wonderful memories we have built and the carefree travel splurges we have had in these 5 years of marriage. As we always saved our annual 2 weeks of vacation days for a yearly India trip , a lot of these trips were made during the long weekends. We traveled domestically without missing a single one. I love the latter half of the year- May onwards where there is a long weekend almost every month and a grand week of vacation in December. This year however, we found ourselves in a slightly tight position financially , having moved to NYC and we didn’t want to spend $$$ flying anywhere . We booked and canceled a Jersey shore vacation when we realized our car rental from the city would cost more than our stay! How I miss are car parked safely away in Texas! Anyway, we found ourselves in the city for this long weekend and decided to make the most of it by taking Bandar to zoo and planning other local activities through the 3 days. However, Bandar had her own plans of course and decided to come down with a high fever right on dot , Thursday afternoon!
So out the window went our city exploration plans and instead we spent every minute at home with our monkey.
– Bandar’s daycare was closed on Thursday. I am getting tired of these extended breaks they keep giving the teachers. As it was a full working day for me with conference calls galore, the husbadoo decided to work from home to watch Bandar. She woke up from an afternoon nap with a slight temperature. That was the start.
– She insisted on going to the park, instead I told her I would take her to the library ( we had fines due and books to return)
– She usually loves going to the library. Her favorite part is picking a few books and reading them there while we sit on the small chairs . That day however, she was so distracted and kept saying she wanted to go the park.
– We left and as it was thundering already ,rushed home. Her fever went up slowly but surely.
– I had sun dried and goat cheese ravioli from Trader Joes but needed to make a sauce. I used a half opened bottle of white wine to make a sauce and it was strictly okay. Anyway, we were both worried about Bandar by then that the food didn’t really matter too much.
– Her temperature went up to 103 and we treated it with meds and took turns sleeping.
– Friday was miserable at home with Bandar sick. We skyped with both sets of grandparents morning and evening , let her watch more than her fair share of videos and ate sandwiches with hummus and veggies.
– We debated about trying to watch fireworks from our terrace but as Bandar had been shivering that day we decided not to.
– My cousin and her family were visiting us the next day , so I decided to precook some stuff. I settled on making ragda (dried green peas/vatana), minus the patties and to serve that with rice. I made my ragda into the wee hours of the night, let it cool, put in the fridge and went to bed.
– We had an early morning Saturday appointment with a doctor in the other end of town. So we took 2 buses and spent a good 2 hours at the doc, testing for strep ( negative ) .
– I had exactly 30 minutes to clean house and finish cooking for the guests. I made a jeera rice with brown rice  and a lemon sevai( rice vermicelli ) for the kids as I knew they wouldn’t touch anything else. I also pulled out the ragda to heat .
– I overheated the ragda and burnt it. It was now extremely smokey in taste! I made a quick raita that I under salted! And a sticky vermicelli dish for the kids. I had preboiled some potatoes to make a quick potato curry for the kids but realized that 4 tiny potatoes yield a miniscule amount of curry. I made it nevertheless.
– When the guests entered I was just fighting major fumes from burnt chillies in the kitchen and everyone started coughing. Bandar was in her worst mood with the morning trek to the doc and cried loads seeing a bunch of strange faces.
– I put the badly cooked meal on the table – sticky, clumpy lemon sevai, burnt ragda, brown jeera rice ( this was tasty but apparently my brother in law and  cousin sister don’t eat brown rice, while her brother and my sister in law do! Whatever ! You can’t make everyone happy) , an undersalted  raita and thawed theplas( my mom got me 200 theplas from India that I freeze and use when needed). I turned my back to see, my well meaning sister in law had put the tiny , tiny amount of potato curry in its kadai and all on the table. I was mortified as I had never intended to serve it. Anyway , I was the last to eat that badly cooked meal and apart from a joke about a BBQ flavored ragda, no one said anything else. Maybe the sick child card worked.
– The husbadoo of course sadly said it was awful and when he says awful,I guess it really was .
– I snuck down to the stores to buy some awfully sugary chocolate cake and ice cream as I had not baked a thing or planned dessert.
– They all left to site see and we napped.
– I woke up and welcomed them back with ginger tea and bhel with homemade chiutneies. I semi redeemed myself and my cooking skills.
– They left around 8 pm and we again skyped with both sets of grandparents.
– Sunday was again extremely boring. I was sulking about yet another Skype conversation and then realized that it was the best way to keep Bandar occupied. She really does love seeing her grandparents.
– I made chocolate chip pancakes for brunch and that counts as my only  succeasfully cooked meal that weekend,
–  I spent the afternoon trying to make a specific salsa . You see, our favorite taco place in Austin served this famous salsa that is so perfect and lot of food bloggers have tried to put together a recipe for it. I think I  either added too much garlic or burnt the jalapenos and garlic a tad too much in the broiler , but the end result was not close to what i expected. Sigh! Need to retry and perfect it. I also roasted tons of veggies for tacos.
– I went to Whole Foods for some milk for Bandar and ended up picking up 2 other salsas for good measure.
– We ate tacos for dinner of course but despite 3 salsa options, we missed the mark. Oh well!
– We skyped some more and called it a long weekend!

5 Responses to “Of long weekends at home, sick babies and cooking disasters”

  1. Titaxy July 8, 2014 at 10:02 pm #

    Hope Bandar feels better soon. Hugs

  2. princessbutter July 9, 2014 at 4:56 am #

    I hope she feels better!
    Btw, if my sabzi burns, I just know that something is gonna go wrong with my rice or the ready to eat roti too. I just know it.

  3. Little Fingers July 10, 2014 at 11:38 am #

    Hope Babdar us feeling better by now. Some days are just crazy on the kitchenfront especially when you have guests. Just chill !! You cooked a lot inspite of having a sick child. Hats off to you .

  4. uma July 12, 2014 at 5:20 pm #

    aww..I hope Bandar is ok now..cooking disasters happen at such inopportune moments, no? I’m always jittery when I’m expecting guests. For the three of us I cook well but when there are more numbers added my calculation goes haywire and well, you know the drill. Partly its my mindset I know!

    • popgoesthebiscuit July 16, 2014 at 11:01 am #

      Thanks, uma. Bandar recovered last week. I usually make too much when we have guests and we are left eating the same crap for days. So I am learning to make less but still no sense of proportion.

Leave a Reply

