The Fifth

3 Jun

Our fifth wedding anniversary rolled around last week and the nicest part for me was having both my parents here! This is the second year in a row my mom has been with us on the day but this year was even sweeter as I had my dad as well. We got their blessings and it was funny to have Bandar touch their feet alongside us. There were gifts of course from them – earrings for me and a tie and tie case for the husbadoo and cash for both of us.The husbadoo got me 2 gifts – both jewelry in keeping with his yearly record.. One is a pair of diamond solitaire earrings to replace the ones I lost recently ( last month I lost a diamond solitaire earring in the subway..1/3 rd carat but still very precious and I was really sad. It was a second anniversary gift from the husbadoo:(Β  . If anyone knows where you can get a matching earring made to complete the pair, do let me know.) The other was an emerald set- earrings and a pendent. Just one single emerald in each setting. I love the green, but really wish he had just given me one thing. This was simple but two gifts seemed excessive.

image

Anyway, my mom gets so happy when my husband gets me jewelry – I don’t know why. When she found out they were real stones, she suggested I get them set in gold when I came to India. I of course, said I would never wear them if so ! Poor mom, just doesn’t get why I would like to wear silver when I can wear gold.
Oh and I got him nothing as he said I had overdone it on his 30th birthday gifts last month – half of which he hated/ we returned/ hasn’t opened/doesn’t care for. (Buying for him has become really hard and sadly I don’t even make the effort anymore. We did a marriage quiz online and gifts literally mean zero to him and a single digit like 2 or 3 for me compared to other things like appreciation ranking way high for both of us.The only store he likes is Nautica and I make it a point to get him 2-3 things from there each year and that is really all I think I will continue to do.)
Our joint dessert choice was Tiramisu from Whole Foods. We had tasted some last month and had decided we absolutely had to have that for our anniversary. So light and lovely and fresh!
We went out for dinner to an Indian place downtown – Kailash Parbat with my folks and Bandar in tow despite my folks insisting we go out alone. We took a cab back and forth as Bandar was tired out and it ended up being an expensive affair like most of our meals in NYC have been .Bandar was a tad cranky and my folks watched her while we finished our meal. Oh and the grand finale was Bandar announcing loudly that she had to poop and squatting down in the middle of the restaurant , true railway track style and proceeding to do her business with an intense expression on her face. We hurried to lift her and rushed out hoping no one had noticed.
So that is how we celebrated our fifth. The last year has really been fairly tumultuous in terms of our lives and careers but in a strange way it has brought us closer together than ever before. For one thing it has been just mainly the two of us parenting Bandar and sometimes it almost feels like we are doing that away on an island in NYC ,away from the rest of our family and friends.So there have been torrid fights and troublesome moments through the year, but as a whole we seem to be supporting each other more and more each day, respecting each other and our families more, trusting each other more readily and listening and talking to each other more.
And with regards to the day itself, in short it was pretty awesome with lots of joy and laughs and entertainment provided by our little poop machine.Β  I can only hope and pray the year ahead is half as good.

20 Responses to “The Fifth”

  1. Little Fingers June 3, 2014 at 8:15 pm #

    I typed in a long comment and accidentally pressed a wrong button. I don’t even remember what I wrote 😦

    Happy anniversary to you both.

    I love those pretty eat rings. It’s beautiful. I am not a jewelry person either but love some if them because of the emotional attachment .

    Lol at Bundar’s poop incident . They change our life isn’t it ?

  2. Little Fingers June 3, 2014 at 8:16 pm #

    Ayoo ignore those spells my phone is acting crazy today …

  3. Titaxy June 3, 2014 at 8:54 pm #

    the earrings are beautiful! happy anniversary to you two. wish you a jolly year ahead. πŸ™‚

  4. princessbutter June 3, 2014 at 9:58 pm #

    Happy Anniversary! The jewelry is so pretty! I wear only gold that I have been wearing since forever. I want to replace but I dont have the heart to. My mom says I get emotionally attached to a grain of rice too.
    I wanna buy myself something. I think Swarovski solitaire earrings are a good start?
    Ooh, you can turn your earring into a ring or a pendant.

    • popgoesthebiscuit June 3, 2014 at 10:33 pm #

      Oh what a lovely idea-convert my single earring to a ring!! Will maybe take it when I go to India and try it there.
      I love swarovski stuff..earrings or even a nice necklace..we used to have outlet mall near our place in Austin and often got previous year pieces at dirt cheap in the swarovski store

  5. tandooripanipurilife June 4, 2014 at 9:20 am #

    Congratulations on 5th Anniversary Pop πŸ™‚
    It’s hard to buy gift for PK too.. he is so picky!!

  6. Arch June 4, 2014 at 11:58 am #

    Happy Anniversary to you both!! πŸ™‚
    The earrings look great and it sounds like you had a fun day! πŸ™‚

  7. Suma June 5, 2014 at 1:10 am #

    Happy anniversary to you both.
    Love those pretty eat rings, they are beautiful!!

  8. magic June 5, 2014 at 8:52 am #

    Happy anniversary to both of you πŸ™‚

  9. greenboochi June 17, 2014 at 12:18 pm #

    Happy Anniversary to you both πŸ™‚ Loved the post! πŸ™‚

  10. seema3 February 27, 2015 at 2:41 am #

    landed on ur blog–good read, can i get the password for our story if it’s okay with you

  11. seema3 March 11, 2015 at 9:01 pm #

    hi, still waiting for the password

Leave a Reply

