Our Caribbean vacation – Day 0

23 May

To set the stage for our vacation tales, I have to explain how things were with us a week prior to setting off on our trip.

– The husbadoo decided to tell his boss he is taking a week off, exactly a week prior to our departure and his boss ended up being pissed off with him.
– He came home and told me his boss’s reaction and I immediately panicked and decided we needed to cancel our trip or the husbadoo would lose his job and I cannot support my family in NYC on one paycheck! Of course, I always think of the worst situation times infinity in every case.
– The husbadoo spent several hours that day convincing me that all is fine and that I should not worry about his job.
– Finally he lost his cool at my paranoia and said he never wanted to go on a trip anyway and it was my idleness and dissatisfaction with my own job and life that prompted us to book this.Whatever! Not completely untrue but still a mean statement,  that I of course noted and stored in the deepest recesses of my mind to bring up later and also countered with equally mean and bad things.Anyway we fought, we semi made up and fought some more that day.
– We spent the rest of the weekend not talking about the trip and things were still kind of cold between us.
-The husbadoo went off to play cricket on Saturday and I was still a little pissed. He returned with a nasty cough and fever late that evening and I told him to sleep in then guest room. He,  however said he felt isolated and lonely in the guest room after a fight and ended up sleeping on our bed next to Bandar.
– On Sunday morning he felt a little better and we had brunch plans with friends. He decided to carry Bandar in her carrier strapped to him despite me telling him to use the stroller. He of course, coughed several times on Bandar.
– Once we got back from brunch, Bandar started running a fever. I blamed the husbadoo and our fight restarted.Phew ! One terribly long weekend of fighting.
– Monday dawned  and Bandar was still running a fever. We couldn’t send her to school. The husbabdoo had to go to work to placate a pissed off boss. I used a nanny from a back up care service my company provides to come home and she managed a sick Bandar while I worked for a few hours.
– Tuesday – Thursday are a blur with a doctor visit to diagnose Bandar with a viral fever that has to run its course, balancing work, dealing with Bandar’s terrible separation anxiety as I worked in the other room while she cried with a new nanny, dealing with temperatures of 103 F at night that refused to break with medication, forcing medicine down Bandar’s throat, cleaning up puke off the carpet. All delightful activities.
– The husbabdoo worked long days and his boss was a little more open to him going on vacation and it was by Thursday morning that we decided that we would go ahead with our Friday evening journey. I started packing.
– Bandar was still running a fever and we had another doctor’s appointment on Friday morning.After some tests, the diagnosis remained a viral fever and we were given the doctor’s green signal to proceed with our trip.
– I came home at 1 pm and our flight was at 5:25 pm. I had packing to finish up but Bandar cried and howled and was stuck to my hip. I got very little done and decided to finish it as soon as the husbadoo came home from work.
-The husbadoo rang up to see he was meeting his boss till 2:00 pm. He absolutely couldn’t cancel.
-He came home at 2:30 pm but the packing and chaos was impossible to wrap up quickly and we found ourselves dragging a howling Bandar out the door only at 3:15 pm.
– We underestimated the time it takes to get heavy bags, a car seat and a stroller down 5 floors, especially when one parent is holding a screaming, sick child.The kitchen and house were a royal mess and I dreaded the thought of the cleaning that awaited me on my return.
-We couldn’t hail a cab in the rain quickly and were finally only enroute to the airport at 3:50 pm.
-Traffic was awful and we made in in only at 4:50 pm.
– Stupid American Airlines would not let us check in. We had officially missed our flight!
-This is the part I am most ashamed of – I burst into loud sobs at the counter and begged to be let on. They refused and told us to try Jet Blue flights for that evening.
– We went to catch the airport train to go to the other terminal and I cried still. I said several mean things to the husbadoo like it was his fault that this happened and that he had never wanted to go anyway and had willed this to happen.And that I was desperately in need of a holiday for 2 plus years. It was a lot of stupid statements and tears. Like I said, not my proudest moment but I am capturing it here for posterity to show myself what a spoilt brat I was behaving like at the age of 28.The husbadoo gave me a good emotional shaking and told me to jolt out of this behavior and that there were bigger issues in the world. It took me a good 10 minutes to become okay and realize this was not a big deal.
– Well, the end result was JetBlue couldn’t help us unless we shelled out $ 1000 / ticket! But Delta could as our return was booked through them and a kind Indian gentleman at Delta took pity on us and booked us in the early morning flight for the next day at $ 38/ ticket more! Basically we just got very lucky.
– Oh but the cab fare to and fro the airport is $65 one way so we shelled out $130 that evening and hauled bags up and down 5 floors and had to do it all over again at 4 am the next day.
– And I booked a cab service for the next day. I would not let this happen a second time.
– We got home and I cleaned the house till 2 am.Yes, there was so much cleaning to do. Bandar’s fever finally broke that night too.
– I slept for maybe 1.5 hours and we were finally on our way to Puerto Rico the next morning.
– And folks, that was the start of our vacation!

7 Responses to “Our Caribbean vacation – Day 0”

  1. Little Fingers May 23, 2014 at 10:50 pm #

    This reminds of a trip we did few years ago.chucky was probably Bander’s age. She was sick and we fought and nearly missed flight . We fought a lot during the vacation too. Looking back I know we did very mean and nasty things to each other in anger instead if supporting each other.Waiting to hear your tales from PR. I know you don’t upload pics in your blog but would live to see them if you do.

    • popgoesthebiscuit May 24, 2014 at 12:26 am #

      Glad I am not the only one who cries at such things. I think I had a frustrating week at home with Bandar and not being able to go on a trip I was looking forward to absolutely was the last straw. Both my husband and I get 100 hours of discounted back up child care / year each and this was the first time I used it. Issue is Bandar’s stranger anxiety is at its peak so she still needed me.
      Planning on putting some pics for sure, need to scan through and see what is blog fit:)

  2. Little Fingers May 23, 2014 at 10:57 pm #

    You are not alone. I do cry loud in such situations. We once dropped Chucky in an airport, I made a big scene.

    Your company sounds cool to provide you child are options at home. I never had it, managed many sick days of my little one with lot of frustration and cursing life. Hubby helped a lot but I always felt he wasn’t doing enough.

  3. Revs May 27, 2014 at 3:43 am #

    I finished off all the posts in your blog. Pliss to write more now! I’m bored!!

  4. Zarine Mohideen May 28, 2014 at 11:03 pm #

    I totally feel you! I mean I don’t have a child yet but this is what my husband and I do too. Sometimes we fight for no reason while traveling. I guess its the stress of traveling that gets to us. But still, glad to read that another person goes through the same thing and it isn’t just me!

    • popgoesthebiscuit May 30, 2014 at 12:27 am #

      Yes , it’s sad to start a trip of fighting and I feel terribly guilty later but you are right about the stress of traveling.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Short Vacay Recap | Pop goes the biscuit - September 11, 2014

    […] left at the crack of dawn on Friday morning. After our whole flight missing incident for our Puerto Rico trip, I try to err on the side of caution and  get us to the airport earlier than needed. This is […]

Leave a Reply

