Back with the Liebster

21 May

Hello interwebs! Its good to be back.
In have been MIA for over 2 weeks now and for the single handful of readers that I have , I was on vacation for a week and spent the week prior to that tending to a sick , little Bandar. But all is good now and I am back with vacation tales and more!
Anyway , I cannot think of a nicer way to get back into the blogging groove than accepting the Liebster award bestowed upon me by the sweet Princess Butter. Her blog is one of my favorite reads so it is a really quite a proud feat for me to actually be nominated by her for this.

I need to award this to 11 others but from browsing the usual blogs I read, I see most people have either already been nominated or taken this up. So I am going to just throw out 11 questions at the end of it and anyone can take them up. Just link back to me so I can read your responses and get to know you a little more,okay?

So let’s get to PB’s questions for me shall we?

1.       What is the significance behind your blog name/title and the name you have chosen(if) for yourself.
It’s really quite random. My favorite author as a child and perhaps even now is Enid Blyton . I started hearing her stories as narrated by my dad at the age of 2, learnt to read by 4 and can proudly say I must have read at least 95% of her work by the age of 10. One of my favorite books by her is the Enchanted Wood series where the children eat magical pop biscuits that I visualized based on the description as largish biscuits that you bit into and they popped and  oozed delicious treacle into your mouth.

2.       What inspired you to start blogging?
I have always loved writing but realized I do far too little of it to even call it a hobby. So I started off telling myself I need to write a little as often as I can. More recently , I have started enjoying connecting to others through my writing, reading their blogs and commenting.Guess that inspires me to keep going.

3.       In your list of pictures, how many are selfies? 😀
Quite a few actually in the recent weeks – pictures of my new haircut and outfits . Others are of self + toddler.

4.       Name a place in India and one abroad that you really would want to visit or re-visit.
In India , I would like it to be a nice hill station somewhere – I don’t care where. I have seen most but want to revisit with my folks and the husbadoo and the Bandar. Sadly the husbadoo and I haven’t had an India trip together except for our wedding due to constantly plauging visa issues.
One trip abroad has to be Italy – I have it already
planned out in my head – 9 days spread across Rome, Milan, Florence.

5.       What is your daytime job when you are not moonlighting as a ‘city vigilante’, err, or a blogger? (Sorry, just saw Spiderman2)
Ughhh..a weird combo of product marketing and project management for a pretty well known technology company. In other words a total non-tech role in a tech company. I am a shame to the engineering community anyway so this is a good thing.

6.       What is the most amazing thing and the most annoying thing about yourself?
I can multitask really well – balancing multiple projects at work, multitasking while a home,multitasking between work and home.
My worst trait is that I have a mean tongue and say the worst things in a fight that I regret later. Learning to control it.

7.       What is the most amazing thing and the most annoying thing about the opposite sex

Thankfully, not all guys do this so I cannot generalize but off late one thing I have seen some terrible Desi husbands do is put down their wives in front of other women. So cheap. For instance a friend who was recently clicking pictures of his rather portly wife besides her petite friends, commented crassly that she looked like their elder sister despite being a few years younger.
Another guy demeaned his wife by saying I needed to give her weight loss tips as she had not lost her baby weight .Jerk, are you trying to actually hit on me while putting down your wife in the same sentence? I stopped interacting with him almost immediately afterwards. Another commented loudly at a Desi gathering that the food was so delish and his wife needs to learn to cook like this. If you like the food so much ,Jackass what about learning the recipe yourself and cooking for your poor wife instead? The poor newly married girl of 22 years is struggling managing her masters and the house , leave alone learning to cook to please you.
Okay,vent over!Hate to generalize on the positive stuff too but I like it that most guys tend to forgive and forget small tiffs rather easily. Unlike some women who tend to bear grudges.

8.       Everyone asks about love. I want to know how important do you think lust is in a relationship?
Super important to me at least. I cannot think of one without the other.

9.       What is your biggest guilty pleasure?
Definitely unhealthy food. I try to eat fairly healthy most of the time but off late I find myself indulging in luscious desserts and fried crap like French fries and onion rings a tad too much.  Maybe the after effects of the recent holiday.

10.   How much time do you take to get ready for work?
I work from home so I am pretty much always in my pyjamas. But again after holidaying and living with 2 other girls my age in the same house I have figured I am quite low maintenance and take less time than most guys even to get ready.

11.   Last but not the least, where and how do you see yourself in ten years from now?
Don’t know really. I have recently given up on lofty career ambitions and such. I am learning to be satisfied with what I have and counting my blessings everyday . I am in total zen mode here so I am going to say I hope and pray I am just leading a simple, peaceful ,normal life surrounded by the ones I love.

My questions for any of my readers to pick up and answer
1)Your favorite meal of the day – breakfast/ lunch/ dinner and what would you ideally want to eat?
2) Your zodiac sign? Do you have any of the standard characteristics?
3) Where would you go on your ideal holiday – the mountains/the beach/a buzzing city?
4) Your favorite ice cream flavor
5) Your dream job
6) Your happiest moment till date
7) Do you remember your dreams? Your funniest dream till date.
8) How many languages do you speak and which ones?
9) Sweet/ Savory? Which one do you prefer?
10)Do you cook? Do you have a signature dish – something you have mastered and love? What is it?
11) Lastly, what are your favorite blogs to read. I am looking to add some to my reader so go ahead and give me recos.

Do, do take these up you’ll! Would love to see your responses.

5 Responses to “Back with the Liebster”

  1. princessbutter May 21, 2014 at 8:28 am #

    Brilliant job! Loved your answers!! The other day, i was at a house party and an office guy Mike had gotten his gf Megan along. Now, Megan is sorta chubby and so is he. He started teasing me about how 1 beer is enough to get me high. Megan told me not to mind, and even she gets high quick. Mike went, “No but you are…Never mind”. Dear god! I pretended I did not hear that! He was not getting any cuddles that night for sure.

    • popgoesthebiscuit May 21, 2014 at 8:32 am #

      Girl! You are fast! I had not even titled the post yet!Amuses me that I was commenting on your post while you commented on mine.
      Oh man – so it is not just Desi guys as I suspected who were jackasses.

      • princessbutter May 21, 2014 at 9:15 am #

        Hehe. Guys are just nuts!

      • Zarine Mohideen May 22, 2014 at 11:57 am #

        Some times guys are just so dumb! They really just let their mouth run amok!

  2. Pepper May 21, 2014 at 5:53 pm #

    Such fun answers. I found myself nodding a lot. 🙂

Leave a Reply

