#100HappyDays – Happy moments from my trip

14 Apr

Silly me! I thought I would have more time on my hands to blog when I traveled for work. Phew! It was an exhausting 4 days and I glad to be home.
It’s still weird to call NYC home but it was oddly comforting to arrive at JFK and take the subway home, immersed in the throngs of people. I actually missed the sirens, the crowds, the dirt and everything in the short time that i was away.
Of course,  the people make the place home and I was just glad to return and hug my lovely husbadoo and Bandar.
I was a little wary as to how Bandar would behave when she saw me. The last time I traveled about 6 weeks ago, she sulked a good 30 minutes before letting me hold her. This time though she came straight to me and wanted me to pick her up even before I had washed my hands. The husbadoo surpassed all expectations in holding down the fort here. I must have married well and am truly blessed.

Some happy moments from Austin that pale in comparison to the return above-
Having a good heart to heart discussion with my manager about my career. It is not necessarily progressing at the rate that I want but it was good to know that the path to get to my goal is definitely interesting and will keep me stimulated and challenged. A few alternate paths also were discussed last week that make me feel hopeful and positive about the future.

Walking down the aisles at work and bumping into all the friendly faces. Innumerable people came by to hug me and ask how we were doing in NYC. I miss these small things now that I work remote.

Meeting my buddies. It was so much fun catching up with some true friends and the dinners at their homes , outside, playing board games till midnight on a working day all filled my heart with so much warmth and joy and  I can go a few more months leading this solitary life in NYC.

Planning a on the spur trip with the above mentioned friends, the husbadoo and Bandar. A spontaneous discussion on travel plans led us to book tickets for a Caribbean getaway with our best friends in a  month’s time. Now for planning the itinerary and details.

Going out for meals without the husbadoo in Austin to our frequented places was a tad sad. Nevertheless, I got my fill my Tex Mex and returned stuffed.

Driving my car. I am usually not  fan of driving at all, it tires me and I am not a confident driver at all.But I have missed being behind the wheel and it was fun to drive my car to work like I have done for the 6 years before we moved.

7 Responses to “#100HappyDays – Happy moments from my trip”

  1. Little Fingers April 14, 2014 at 11:14 am #

    May I ask which Caribbean island are you planning to visit? Austin trip sounds do much fun. Best part is Bundar’s reaction when she met you. Hope you had a good weekend.

    • popgoesthebiscuit April 14, 2014 at 8:12 pm #

      Puerto Rico! Only one apart from USVI that doesn’t need a visa and a stamped passport for reentry. Have you been?

      • Little Fingers April 14, 2014 at 8:51 pm #

        Now I find it little too much coincidence.We will be in Puerto Rico first week of May to celebrate my birthday .Do you have your dates finalized ? I haven’t done any planning , hubby booked flights and hotel and that’s it. Few places I have in mind are the rain forest, flemnco beach and the bio bay . Which is that USVI you are referring? It will be fun if you are there same time as us.

      • popgoesthebiscuit April 14, 2014 at 9:25 pm #

        Omg..may 9-18 here.booked ticks.Hoping you are there and we can meet maybe?? I meant US Virgin Islands was the other option.

      • popgoesthebiscuit April 14, 2014 at 9:26 pm #

        Not booked hotels yet. Mostly doing a condo or something with a kitchenette for Bandar’s food..set cooker etc almost every day for her and need a cooking arrangement

      • Little Fingers April 14, 2014 at 10:15 pm #

        I have been to Bahamas and Cancun .We will be there between 3-8 May. Chucky is in an age where she is exposed to outside food , besides I don’t like cooking on vacation. But I am worried about the availability of veg food. Condo will be good fit since you are there for10 days and if you are traveling with friends it is going to be so much fun staying together. I almost thought we could meet in PR.Let me see if we can extend our stay by couple of days without much charge. R will be traveling following Monday and I wanted to come back and setup everything for the week hence we are coming back early.

      • popgoesthebiscuit April 15, 2014 at 2:38 am #

        Ahhh! Sad that we are missing each other by a day! I was outside at my DMV office after reading your previous comments and even told the husband that I was actually going to meet a ‘blog friend’ in PR!
        Not even started looking at the main places to see or where to stay. Have deferred to my friend to do a lot of the planning.I just know that they wanted to spend the 9 days split in 2 different locations as it was a large island and cover more of the surrounding area that way. I am just excited to go on a real holiday. Our last one was 2011 Dec to Hawaii so been a looooong time!

Leave a Reply

