Playdate anyone?

1 Apr

In Austin , we had several different groups of friends and were pretty close to two specific couples and a lot of weekends were spent with them. After Bandar made her appearance in 2012 and our mobility was a little limited , our closest friends were totally cool with coming over on a Friday/ Saturday night after dinner and waiting till we got Bandar to sleep and playing board games till 2 am.
I sometimes had a dessert ready, sometimes chips, sometimes drinks..didn’t really matter.There were absolutely no formalities involved. They have seen our house at its messiest best and never really judged (at least commented). Often I would have to go and pat,rock, feed Bandar to sleep if we saw her sitting up on the baby monitor and everyone was fine with pausing the game for me.
Apart from these close friends, we had other friends for casual dinners, friends who we had nothing in common with but kids and they served to be good resources on all things baby, the husbadoo’s cricket buddies whose mysterious wives never as much as gave us a glance when we bumped into them somewhere but the men acted like they were the best of buds with each other.
We had packed weekends and I remember being pissed off for a period after our wedding when we hardly got time to just hang out alone.
Anyway, now we hardly have any friends here in NYC. Bandar goes to school with a bunch of kids whose moms all seem nice and cordial and to be fair, play dates in the park have been discussed for Spring. But in the last 2 months, it has just been our little family unit, which for the most part is fun but yes it would be nice to have some friends.

We took Bandar to the park last weekend and she started playing with a girl about 2 months older. The parents seemed genuinely friendly and we struck up a conversation on daycares, weird child behavior, places to eat etc etc. I really thought there was a genuine connection there. As we got ready to leave I said to the mom , ” So should we exchange numbers and maybe arrange a play date for the kids?”
She said , ” Definitely, they are so close in age and appear to really like playing together.”
She took out her phone to text me, so that I would have her number. My cell phone as usual wasn’t charged but I told her I would respond once I charged it.
We left and the husbadoo and I discussed the conversation and were glad we had met a nice family.  I of course, started visualizing fun play dates at our house or theirs with the girls playing and the adults sipping wine.
I got home and charged my phone to find no message at all! So I did not have her number. Did she fake texting me?
Was it weird / creepy/ desperate/ all of the above of me to suggest exchanging numbers?
I gave her the benefit of doubt for  24 hours and when no message came even then, I assumed she never did text me.
I am now super embarrassed to go back to the same park in case, we bump into them again. They live really close to it, so there is a good chance we will see them sooner or later. I do not know if I should even mention the text that I never received or just act normal and not talk about it at all.
Ughhh! This whole thing is just so embarrassing overall. I am now too nervous to even suggest a phone number exchange with any other parent, especially one I just met. I have over analyzed this situation so much and the husbadoo is teasing me about it as well!
What would you do if you were in my place and saw them again?

6 Responses to “Playdate anyone?”

  1. Titaxy April 1, 2014 at 9:58 pm #

    well, I would give her the benefit of doubt. What if she took down your number wrong? There is a slight possibility of that. And in that case, maybe now even she is wondering why you haven’t replied. 😛 Maybe the next time you see her you can be casual and just bring this up in a matter of fact way and ask her if she lost your number, maybe. I don’t know…just suggesting. 🙂

    • popgoesthebiscuit April 2, 2014 at 1:06 am #

      Ya slight possibility of error is there of course. I am sure we will see them again at the park . Maybe I will let her bring it up first..hmmm..so trivial and yet soooooo complex:)

  2. princessbutter April 2, 2014 at 12:48 am #

    This sounds so much like ‘ooh, should I call him or should I wait! Wait, why hasnt he texted me yet! Did the date not go well? I thought i was perfect! ‘. Haha. So cute!

    • popgoesthebiscuit April 2, 2014 at 1:09 am #

      Totally! That is exactly what the husbadoo was teasing me about:)

  3. Little Fingers April 2, 2014 at 4:01 am #

    I lost what I typed in. Anyways it was more or less same as what Titaxy told you. Also just wait a year or two Bunder will bring home her own list and all you can do is to setup those . Last year Chucky got very close to a boy at school , me and boys mom became too close in no time. Except I realized my mistake late when she started dumping all tasks on me. Finally I had to call off out friendship. I did even blogged abt it. It was very painful to go through that .

    • popgoesthebiscuit April 2, 2014 at 8:58 pm #

      Oh oh! Sad about another mom taking advantage. Right now, I am going to just wait till spring and then set up time with the daycare kids in the park and start bonding with those moms.

Leave a Reply

