#100HappyDays – Its a hap,hap, happy day!

21 Mar

Today was indeed a happy day.

My little sister turned 20! For a short while we both are in our 20s.Yeah! Wow,time flies. I remember being woken up by Dad on a Sunday morning and told that my baby sister had arrived. Was that really 20 years ago? I did not send her a cake or anything this year as I have in the past but she did get a yummy one from my parents. I got to have a long phone conversation with her which is rare considering she is bang in the middle of her final exams. I miss her tons , she will always be my first baby and I just really feel particularly close to her today and warm and fuzzy inside when I think of her.

I am at a point where I have come to terms with my weight and body. It probably is a temporary phase and it is likely that I will go down the weight depression spiral again sometime, but for now I am fine. It means that I do not grudge myself a cookie or some chocolate on a daily basis. It means that I am not upset that I missed working out several times this week . I have accepted that my happy weight is a good 5-7 lbs away but that I have realistically only been that thin only once when I was single and spent over 2.5 hours at the gym each day. I no longer have that motivation, time or resources. I have worked bloody hard to get lower than my pre pregnancy weight and I am ok with staying at this for a while.

I cooked some really good food today – peanut capsicum subji to eat with quinoa tomorrow, yummy portabello sandwiches for dinner, moong and spinach dosas for Bandar and us. I am probably not the  best cook out there but I know I can cook healthy,tasty food for myself and my family and that works for now.

I had a professional cleaner clean our apartment today using a discounted online deal. I am so glad I did this. I love the clean kitchen especially so much and I have decided to spend on this luxury each month. I am lousy and lazy at cleaning and we owe it to Bandar to have a clean house for her.

Work is a little scary right now – have a gigantic task ahead of me and it is pushing me out of my comfort zone.But as this is a happy post,  I am going to tell myself I will get this done and emerge victorious on the other side.

I was searching my gmail account for some random old document and found the emails the husbadoo and I wrote each other during the 1 year I was in India and he was in the US. I was 20 and he was 21 and there is a certain innocence that stands out in those letters. We wrote to each other every day without fail and this was in the midst of peak parental pressure to break up! I wonder if I will ever show Bandar those letters? Hmmmm
I had a particularly disconnecting moment with my mom today over the phone when she reacted in a very unexpected way to something I said. I was disappointed for a second but then knew who would understand how I felt and have the exact reaction I expected. The husbadoo , of course! I realized that I have at least made one good decision in life – chosen to marry this man. He was worth every fight and argument with my parents.This moment coupled with the reading of the letters makes me feel ever so much in love today. The lover is however snoring peacefully in bed and we have a little bandar between us, but I will join them anyway. Good night world!

4 Responses to “#100HappyDays – Its a hap,hap, happy day!”

  1. Titaxy March 21, 2014 at 8:37 pm #

    I am all smiles reading this post. Especially the last incident you’ve mentioned… so much love, which I can totally relate to. So here’s to the strength of love, clean house, awesome home cooked food, and family. Happy weekend! šŸ™‚

  2. Little Fingers March 26, 2014 at 3:38 am #

    Happy Birthday to Sister. I am also around 7 pounds away from that weight I wanted. The sooner we come in agreement the better. having clean kitchen I tell you its a bliss. Last weekend I had a fight with hubby and I think it triggered with a messy kitchen. I just can’t cook food when Kitchen is messy.Work it always will take you on the edge and the best part is you will overcome. I am sure about it. but its the uncertainty from now and then that’s what makes us worried. Aww so much love in there and I can tell you fight with the parents to live with the love of your life is the best thing I did too . Its worth it šŸ™‚

    • popgoesthebiscuit March 26, 2014 at 10:46 am #

      Unfortunately I don’t keep the house or kitchen too clean but I am improving slowly. Yeah, for marrying for love..totally worth it.😁

Leave a Reply

